Hello I Must Be Going - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hello I Must Be Going Reviews

Top Critic
Calvin Wilson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 18, 2012
"Hello I Must Be Going" is at once an intriguing character study and a refreshingly offbeat romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
October 18, 2012
The movie's sharp-tongued and softhearted, a Sundance kind of film that mostly sidesteps generic Sundanceyness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
September 21, 2012
Sarah Koskoff's screenplay is flagrantly duplicitous, introducing the heroine as a self-pitying sloth, then trying to pass her off as likable by making nearly all the other characters drips, snobs, or unfeeling scolds.
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
September 21, 2012
Succeeds almost entirely on the strength of Melanie Lynskey's heartfelt and humorous performance in the lead role.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
G. Allen Johnson
San Francisco Chronicle
September 20, 2012
Sarah Koskoff's play-it-safe script and Louiso's heavy-handed direction combine to kill the potential of "Hello I Must Be Going."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
September 20, 2012
Lynskey lets us see, from deep within Amy's fog, an instinctual desire to please, and a sense of innocent wonderment at how she could possibly have gotten into such a mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
September 20, 2012
Much credit goes here to Christopher Abbott, whose persuasive performance bridges the gap. He's like a living embodiment of the cliche, "I love you enough for the both of us."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
September 13, 2012
A funny, well-written, involving and emotionally honest tale.
Top Critic
September 12, 2012
While there are laughs and plenty of them sprinkled throughout, Hello I Must Be Going is predictably sweet and ends up exactly where you think it might, safe and sound.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
Slate
September 7, 2012
I hope Hello, I Must Be Going will introduce many new viewers to Lynskey's charms, and that at least of a few of them will be casting directors.
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
September 7, 2012
This isn't a new topic for independent films - ten years ago, Jake Gyllenhaal was the busy boy-toy in both "Lovely & Amazing" and "The Good Girl" - but this film handles it with fresh eyes, and a gentle approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
September 7, 2012
Abbott has a compelling unpredictability, though, and in a couple of his scenes with Lynskey, you can spot the stirrings of a more complex film than the one we finally ended up with.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Farran Smith Nehme
New York Post
September 7, 2012
Overall, the comedy is a lovely showcase for Lynskey and the rest of the cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Alonso Duralde
TheWrap
September 6, 2012
But while this is Lynskey's show, the real gut-punch comes from Danner as the uptight and dissatisfied Ruth, who loves her daughter but also wants her to get her life together (and, ideally, the hell out of the house).
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
September 6, 2012
Lynskey inhabits the role so completely, brings such exquisite naturalness to her performance, that she becomes someone we root for unreservedly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
September 6, 2012
[It's] better than the story it has to tell, and that is thanks to the bravery and sensitivity of Ms. Lynskey's performance and the sweet, intense love affair that is the film's main concern.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
September 6, 2012
Both funnier and deeper than you might expect at the outset.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Glenn Kenny
MSN Movies
September 6, 2012
... not just one of the finest indie releases of the year, but one of the sharpest and most moving and engaging movies of the year, period.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
September 5, 2012
Every scene - including mopey family meals, secret assignations, and confessions under the stars - breathes with a freshness that carries this tiny romance safely beyond the realm of indie cuteness, into the world of a character worth caring about.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
September 4, 2012
Koskoff's script is all stock epiphanies about getting your life in order and following your dreams.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Andrew Schenker
Village Voice
September 4, 2012
Todd Louiso's Hello I Must Be Going affirms Lynskey as a lead mostly by letting us marvel at the depth she brings ...
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
January 21, 2012
For all its faults, Hello I Must Be Going marks a huge step up from actor-director Todd Louiso's previous efforts...
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
January 21, 2012
If it's too subtle (and too similar to several other low-key indie romcoms) to make a big splash, it's got lovely performances and really builds strength as it goes along.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Hollywood Reporter
January 21, 2012
A credibly drawn central character is trapped inside a half-cooked dramatic stew in Hello I Must Be Going.
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Variety
January 20, 2012
Even the look seems to be at odds with the material.