Her - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Her Reviews

Page 1 of 13
February 4, 2014
Her left me as empty as an unplugged monitor.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 3, 2014
A not very satisfying, not especially nourishing combination sci-fi story/romantic comedy.
December 22, 2013
Like all relationships, it's a complicated film that's hard to love but impossible to hate, and though it gets better once it overcomes its painfully dull first hour, it still feels uneven at best.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
December 4, 2013
Her is a romantic computer comedy. It's a rom-com.com.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
December 17, 2013
there's a dangerous naivete here
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 11, 2013
All concept and style, "Her" floats around like a clinical bubble that pops.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 13, 2014
We need more subplots. (Even just one.) Instead we get a life sentence of staring at Phoenix's face while the actor, as skilfully as he can, goes through the 12 steps of disenchantment in his one-man LA therapy classes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 26, 2013
The best things in the movie aren't transporting or diverting but merely incite intellectual recognition: Yes. OK. That's amusing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 17, 2013
...a silly, not credible meander down a road to nowhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
January 9, 2014
...the film's critical fans-seem to think he's breaking new ground. He's not, and the resulting film is more disappointing than the hype surrounding it lets on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 9, 2014
The movie has earned critical acclaim for capturing the zeitgeist of gadget-based narcissism, though it strikes me as the sort of thing made by someone who could use some actual problems to worry about.
December 17, 2013
There are many, many feelings stuck into Her, pin-cushion-style, but the result is a kind of overstuffed stupefaction.
December 28, 2013
I was almost as bored by him (the self-indulgent protagonist) as Her.'
Full Review | Original Score: C plus
May 10, 2016
Her is set in the future, but its genius is the fact that it's a love story of our times.
April 12, 2016
Spike Jonze has journeyed into a genuinely rare genre here - the sci-fi drama - and emerged as victorious as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 29, 2016
This is an astoundingly written, directed and acted film that subtly infuses all its emotional and philosophical layers effortlessly and indiscreetly.
December 30, 2015
This intriguing romance takes a clever and sophisticated look at love in the modern world.
November 9, 2015
I adored Her because it tells a story of technology using the DNA of a love affair: longing, flirtation, disappointment, delirious lust, contentment, jealousy, heartbreak and confusion.
June 22, 2016
Her is among the more pleasurable, immediately satisfying, and appreciably ambivalent of techno-love tales.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 4, 2014
"Her" is the finest writing and directorial endeavor of Spike Jonze's career.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 13