Hereditary Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 19, 2020
This was so stupid to me... Absolute, utter nonsense.
October 17, 2019
["Hereditary"] falters at the finish line. Not only are the last 20 minutes desperate undisciplined, but the actions are screen don't tingle the spine.
July 12, 2019
Hobbled by a lack of cohesive narrative execution, Aster has ultimately made a very strong debut that shows a great talent for filmmaking, but one that would do with some refinement on the script level.
May 21, 2019
The movie does terrify in moments, but its movement from humanistic horror to inexplicably supernatural in the last third feels unsatisfying.
January 14, 2019
Hereditary literally demonizes a transgender spirit.
November 16, 2018
You really think Hereditary's bounty of symbolism will amount to something profound, until the third act when you realize it's abandoned all of its commentary for typical horror fare.
October 17, 2018
Hereditary is a numbing experience. It attempts to unsettle, shock and terrify - and it does so mildly well. And yet that seems like the only goal.
October 10, 2018
There's nothing about this movie that I enjoyed, for two hours and seven minutes...this just isn't my cup of tea...
September 5, 2018
Its trippy turn at first feels refreshing, then goofy: the fatalism and sense of doom underpinning the film are very hard to take as seriously.
September 5, 2018
It touches on annihilating despair, and asks its cast to lower themselves into an emotional meat grinder in a way that the film, I say, does not earn.
August 27, 2018
[Hereditary] is a tense picture, but one I found ultimately unfulfilling.
August 21, 2018
How do you know when a film doesn't deliver in a particular genre? The audience starts to laugh at scenes that are supposed to be genuinely terrifying.
July 16, 2018
There is no visual creativity and the ending is more of a joke: the film bites its own tail. [Full review in Spanish]
June 28, 2018
As it builds to a climax, the film takes a wild turn into hell with a bombast that seems unnecessary and undermining. Some viewers may be juiced by something this over-the-top, but I prefer the darker subtlety of a more quiet place.
June 28, 2018
Unfortunately, the weaknesses in its script make Hereditary far from being at the level of the classics and leave it closer to effective, but disposable films like Insidious or The Amityville Horror. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 27, 2018
My disappointment would be less bitter if the first half weren't so strong, and I commend Aster for the effort, especially his direction of actors, all of whom shine.
June 25, 2018
Put quite bluntly: Hereditary is a fiasco. [Full review in Spanish]
June 21, 2018
Ride of pure terror? I've had more terrifying rides on the teacups at the fair.
June 20, 2018
Hereditary speaks with the language of lowbrow horror when it's been setting itself up as something a little classier and a lot more original.
June 20, 2018
When it's bad, Hereditary feels like the wrong kind of exploitation flick, one that doesn't inhabit its traumas deeply and so believes a character as beautifully performed as Annie's deserves to be the butt of a cosmic joke.
Page 1 of 3