Hi, Mom! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hi, Mom! Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 14, 2016
Some good stuff in it, but too all over the place.
½ March 16, 2015
De Niro was oke funny , but was this a movie , more a documentary....soon forgotten by me . SOMDVD
September 29, 2014
Fact: Jon Rubin is Travis Bickle. (or Travis Bickle is Jon Rubin)This is very fucking obvious. Both are porn movie lovers. Both are lonely. Both cite their mother. Both are Vietnam War veteran who searches for a way out for his mediocre life through the violence against the social environment. All right, Jon Travis Rubin Bickle. Let's blow up a laundry room, kill a politician and a few pimps. Haha."I'd like to say something. I'm just sick of this bullshit!... Hi, Mom!"
June 28, 2014
Really smart and really funny and largely improvised. A must see film. Proof that De Niro was really great it improve comedy and it's really kind of shocking to see a slender Charles Durning. It's even more shocking to see De Palma put his camera in one place and let the actors do the heavy lifting, and they do it damn well.
½ July 26, 2013
Brian De Palma's Hi Mom! Is acted, directed, written, and edited on a grand scale. Part 3 of the back theater is extremely intense and holds up well. Love that ending!
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2013
"Hi, Mom!" starts with a building superintendent(Charles Durning) bending over backwards, literally not figuratively, to rent a lovely slum apartment to Jon Rubin(Robert De Niro) who accepts it in order to film the occupants of the apartment building across the way. Instead of going straight to the Museum of Modern Art with his footage, he goes to the first smut peddler(Allen Garfield) he comes across who seeing the pornographic possibilities decides to bankroll him despite the dubious legality, ethics and morality of the enterprise. While filming, Jon takes special notice of Judy Bishop(Jennifer Salt), always lonely, and decides to seduce her.

Like most of Brian De Palma's more recent films, "Hi, Mom!" wears the influence of other films on its sleeve, in this case the French New Wave(as do other films in the current 'New Yawk, New Wave' festival currently showing at the Film Forum, as other people have pointed out). But at least here, he takes the jump cuts and puts them to alternately hilarious and disturbing uses while telling an original story to deftly show how technology separates us, not brings us together, made still relevant today by the advent of the infernal cell phone while giving glimpses of a bygone New York City. For a while, this may feel like little more than elaborately devised skits but it all comes together toward the end in an increasingly provocative narrative.
½ March 14, 2012
Not only it's De Niro's beginnings in the cinema but also one of De Palma's initial feature movies. Pawky social satire that due to my adoration of De Palma I really enjoyed.
March 10, 2012
2 stars for the acting here which was great. The film however was a total mess. All I could think about in this whole process was, why? and the title of this film makes sense in the end which would make most just smack themself upside the head. I did want to like this one, and I really had no idea what it was about going into it. I think if I had known the plot, I might have been more prepared for this bizzare mess. I'm usually one to like these types, but it just didn't work at all here and the editing was awful as well.
January 7, 2012
Didn't read the description before watching it and now that I did...I wouldn't expect half of what I saw, but I'm very happy that I did. This movie is 42 years old, unbelievable. Very political, funny in a very dark way, slightly erotic and for the most part shocking.
½ October 9, 2011
This movie exhibits De Palma under the influence of the French Nouvelle Vague to mixed results. Formally interesting und subversive but on the inside it just falls apart.
July 15, 2011
This is a bit of a mess, it seems to be trying to straddle comedy and social commentary but it succeeds in neither. Not a hightlight for De Palma or De Niro.
½ June 7, 2011
Strange different almost exploitation type film. Early role from De Niro and he does a great job. Still the movie is dull and grainy, so it's not really enjoyable.
½ March 28, 2011
After returning from Vietnam, a vet moves into a dingy apartment where he begins to film tenants who live across the street, very "Peeping Tom" style. He wants to create a unique and artistic pornographic film, as he manipulates his subjects to do so. He ends up falling into a Black Power group where he partakes in urban terrorism. It's no secret that De Palma is fascinated with voyeurism and this film is no different. This is a bizarre strange satiric look at both the filmmaking process (reality vs. manipulation) while also commenting on social issues which were very relevant at the time, particularly the black power movement. The scenes towards the end of the film involving the black power group are fantastic, and really elevated this film from decent to good. Robert DeNiro really is great in the lead role, he really balances absurdity and realism of his character perfectly. It's really a diabolical playful experiment where De Palma uses lots of cinematic tricks and an awesome soundtrack to create this fun absurd comedy. It really love the playfulness of De Palma's early work
March 5, 2011
One of DePalma's early films, with a great performance from De Niro, this film is about America in the middle of the Vietnam War, civil rights, feminism and the changes that took place around that time. It is a shocking film in many ways and is fascinating to see DeNiro prior to his starring roles in his better known films.
Super Reviewer
½ December 16, 2010
This movie is more of a documentary about radical New York film and theatre groups in 1970. It's really uneven and all over the place, and the end doesn't make any sense. Overall, it's interesting, but not a good movie.
Super Reviewer
October 9, 2010
My guess is it's a 'you'll get it or you won't' kind of movie. Personally I found it a pleasantly surprising quirky film and the title of course reveals itself toward the end.

Some quite controversial issues rise and as regards to storytelling, this is not such a straight forward film in the usual sense, in fact in many ways it's quite arty.
½ August 11, 2010
A surprisingly profound and experimental film by DePalma, "Hi, Mom" is about a man hustling gigs in New York to pay rent, as his odd jobs comprise: directing peeping tom movies, to taking a role as a cop in a Black Power play which exposes affluent white participants to cruel and disorienting events. This film will stick to the guts for a while after it's over with disturbing scenes of counter-racial, mind-jarring, power-play, slathered with a dash of first-date romantic comedy jitters.
July 30, 2010
An insane little comedy that goes from being a cutesy little sex comedy to an aggressive satire of race roles. Not as coherent visually of dramatically as later De Palma work, but his penchant for voyeurs as protagonists is prevalent as well as his affinity for mimicking Hitchcock in one way or another.
½ July 30, 2010
Man, I thought I'd seen all the wacky 70s movies there were. This one is pretty peculiar and hilarious, especially the guerrilla theater scenes if you can make it past your initial horror.
Page 1 of 5