The Hills Have Eyes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hills Have Eyes Reviews

Page 2 of 1004
Super Reviewer
½ August 9, 2016
Just shows how much farther horror films have come recently. This film was considered decent at the time of its release, and though it has an interesting setup, it's badly flawed.
½ August 2, 2016
Decent revenge horror film that shows the lengths a father will go to save his baby. Best thing about this movie is the song Leave the Broken Hearts by The Finalist.
Super Reviewer
½ July 16, 2016
I can't see any good reason to remake a bad movie changing the nature of the depraved villains but keeping all of those lame faults found in the original movie - especially characters who are irritatingly stupid and the only smart one being the dog.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2016
It started off like it was going to surprise us but a few poor jumps later it turns into a gory action film that was just weird and never offers anything new or memorable.
½ June 27, 2016
So messed up! I absolutely loved it!
½ June 13, 2016
Better than the original but not by much
June 13, 2016
This grim 2006 reboot of the 1977 Wes Craven horror classic often gets lumped in with contemporaneous remakes of similar genre touchstones. What separates The Hills Have Eyes is director Alexandre Aja's fresh brand of unrelenting brutality. Punctuated by a truly unsettling score, Aja's film grabs the viewer by the throat and shakes until the blood-smeared climax. Eschewing the irony and clever referencing employed by his peers, Aja doubles down on the savagery and delivers his horror straight up.
½ April 4, 2016
"The Hills Have Eyes" is unevenly acted but way more graphic than its predecessor. But due to a story both shot and told in a rushed pace, this 2006 remake doesn't come of as haunting as the original did.
March 17, 2016
April 21st 2013
March 17th 2016
March 15, 2016
It's an okay movie but it didn't feel like a horror though
March 13, 2016
Spoilt by unnecessary rape scene
½ March 3, 2016
Almost as good as the original.
February 9, 2016
Still an effective premise, so why fix it if it ain't broke? The Hills Have Eyes doesn't necessarily break the mold when it comes to horror movies, but that doesn't diminish from it's appeal. It knows what it can do, and it does it right. Even with a blueprint plot, there are still enough surprises and jump scares to make it a fun viewing. Yes there's a lot of gore, but this isn't torture porn by any stretch of the imagination. Imho, the gore factor is overstated; there's a lot of red, but it's not gushing out and spraying all over the place. Hence its not disgusting as much as it's a bit shocking (= enhances the scene). I found the movie to be quite enjoyable and would definitely recommend it, especially when compared to the deluge of cookie cutter PG horror movies that make me embarrassed to even call them horrors.
½ December 26, 2015
if you like horror movies you will love this
½ December 8, 2015
There was that 5 year span or so, actually that is still lingering today in the horror genre after SAW came out where movie companies were literally pumping out slasher movies year round. Not only did it water the genre down to the point of drowning it but it made the movies that are actually pretty solid also seem ridiculous and silly. The slasher genre is pretty much dead and buried after movies like this. There was a high demand for them for about a year after SAW came out and then people got tired of it, and the same old thing. It is basically the same movie over and over again with different setting and different actors. Poor.
October 30, 2015
My favorite horror movie of the 2000s.
½ October 26, 2015
Watch "Timber Falls" which is a much better backwoods horror movie than this crap which is boring and disgusting.
October 25, 2015
If your looking for something that is disturbing and unpleasant here it is. Don't try and have a iron gut and eat anything while watching this.
½ October 25, 2015
Here's my 2nd outing watching this film. I was questioning why I was watching it again when I have so many other films to watch. Well, I didn't remember that I saw it at first, because it didn't have a rating on here. Then I continued to watch it because my first saw the film before but he doesn't remember it too well. This film is still as great as I remembered it. Unfortunately, I still haven't seen the original to make a real comparison.

I never see the gosh darn original and its sequel ever on television. Well, it appears to be very faithful to the original. There's those awkward scenes which tell you that it's a remake and then enough modern stuff to make it a modern film. Most likely, the whole camper scene is as eerie and violent and graphic as the original, but worse.

I like to compare this remake to the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. In that case, I have seen the original and the remake. I find the original terrible and the remake a faithful but way less shitty film. Not sure if the sequel to this movie is a remake of the original's sequel. Slasher films get a lot of heat for originality or creativity. The stupidest part about this film is why the townies are so screwed up and 90% of them are murderous, homicidal freaks. Don't know. Again, if I was to take a guess....this film was heavily inspired by The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

Another thing to note, is that the remake of TCM was a legit remake, still taking place during the same time frame. This remake is modern. Almost making this more like a reimagining instead.
October 25, 2015
This was really good. I enjoyed it.
Page 2 of 1004