The Hills Have Eyes - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hills Have Eyes Reviews

Page 2 of 1004
½ June 27, 2016
So messed up! I absolutely loved it!
½ June 13, 2016
Better than the original but not by much
June 13, 2016
This grim 2006 reboot of the 1977 Wes Craven horror classic often gets lumped in with contemporaneous remakes of similar genre touchstones. What separates The Hills Have Eyes is director Alexandre Aja's fresh brand of unrelenting brutality. Punctuated by a truly unsettling score, Aja's film grabs the viewer by the throat and shakes until the blood-smeared climax. Eschewing the irony and clever referencing employed by his peers, Aja doubles down on the savagery and delivers his horror straight up.
½ April 4, 2016
"The Hills Have Eyes" is unevenly acted but way more graphic than its predecessor. But due to a story both shot and told in a rushed pace, this 2006 remake doesn't come of as haunting as the original did.
March 17, 2016
April 21st 2013
March 17th 2016
March 15, 2016
It's an okay movie but it didn't feel like a horror though
March 13, 2016
Spoilt by unnecessary rape scene
½ March 3, 2016
Almost as good as the original.
February 9, 2016
Still an effective premise, so why fix it if it ain't broke? The Hills Have Eyes doesn't necessarily break the mold when it comes to horror movies, but that doesn't diminish from it's appeal. It knows what it can do, and it does it right. Even with a blueprint plot, there are still enough surprises and jump scares to make it a fun viewing. Yes there's a lot of gore, but this isn't torture porn by any stretch of the imagination. Imho, the gore factor is overstated; there's a lot of red, but it's not gushing out and spraying all over the place. Hence its not disgusting as much as it's a bit shocking (= enhances the scene). I found the movie to be quite enjoyable and would definitely recommend it, especially when compared to the deluge of cookie cutter PG horror movies that make me embarrassed to even call them horrors.
½ December 26, 2015
if you like horror movies you will love this
½ December 8, 2015
There was that 5 year span or so, actually that is still lingering today in the horror genre after SAW came out where movie companies were literally pumping out slasher movies year round. Not only did it water the genre down to the point of drowning it but it made the movies that are actually pretty solid also seem ridiculous and silly. The slasher genre is pretty much dead and buried after movies like this. There was a high demand for them for about a year after SAW came out and then people got tired of it, and the same old thing. It is basically the same movie over and over again with different setting and different actors. Poor.
October 30, 2015
My favorite horror movie of the 2000s.
½ October 26, 2015
Watch "Timber Falls" which is a much better backwoods horror movie than this crap which is boring and disgusting.
October 25, 2015
If your looking for something that is disturbing and unpleasant here it is. Don't try and have a iron gut and eat anything while watching this.
½ October 25, 2015
Here's my 2nd outing watching this film. I was questioning why I was watching it again when I have so many other films to watch. Well, I didn't remember that I saw it at first, because it didn't have a rating on here. Then I continued to watch it because my first saw the film before but he doesn't remember it too well. This film is still as great as I remembered it. Unfortunately, I still haven't seen the original to make a real comparison.

I never see the gosh darn original and its sequel ever on television. Well, it appears to be very faithful to the original. There's those awkward scenes which tell you that it's a remake and then enough modern stuff to make it a modern film. Most likely, the whole camper scene is as eerie and violent and graphic as the original, but worse.

I like to compare this remake to the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. In that case, I have seen the original and the remake. I find the original terrible and the remake a faithful but way less shitty film. Not sure if the sequel to this movie is a remake of the original's sequel. Slasher films get a lot of heat for originality or creativity. The stupidest part about this film is why the townies are so screwed up and 90% of them are murderous, homicidal freaks. Don't know. Again, if I was to take a guess....this film was heavily inspired by The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

Another thing to note, is that the remake of TCM was a legit remake, still taking place during the same time frame. This remake is modern. Almost making this more like a reimagining instead.
October 25, 2015
This was really good. I enjoyed it.
September 21, 2015
I love this movie. Some have said that it's better than the 1977 original, and i agree. The acting is really good, and they've change the story just a bit turning the mutants into victims of radioactivity. It's just done better, the color, the atmosphere the characters but especially the gore effects, they are just great. I really recommend this movie !!!
September 17, 2015
Liked this better than the original but I hated the original so that is not saying much.
September 2, 2015
Intense, suspenceful, scary, Ferocious, Extremely gory and bloody, Wild and brutal plus shocking to the max The Hills Have Eyes remake is one of the most terrifying Horror films ever made and when compared to the original 1977 Wes Craven movie this one surpass the original Hills Have Eyes in many ways. The story of this movie is about a suburban American Family who are traveling to San Diego by car. But soon when the family takes a shortcut from an advice to the gas station man and their car breaks down they soon learn they are not alone as the family soon discovers that they are the target of a group of cannibals who survived the nuclear bombing in that area. The family must now defend themselves and fight against these mutants in order to survive. I remember the first time watching this film I seriously loved it. It was one of those Horror films that truly frightened me and it still shocked me today since I watched it for the seventh time. I really enjoyed this movie because it has all the incredible elements of a survival film combined with gritty elements in the mix. What makes The Hills Have Eyes remake an amazing movie is that this film is well paced from start to finish. I love how the film starts with a solid flow in the first half and I enjoyed how it changes its pace in the next half by going into the grittiest direction and it really becomes gruesome and more violent at the same time. The other things I like about this film is the impressive camera work by cinematographer Maxim Alexandre, you get to see loads of beautiful shots and sceneries in certain parts of the film that are combined with a sinister and gritty atmosphere (Lots of incredible mountain shots, the scene where we get to see a big crater from the Nuclear bombing) plus the film's settings are eerie and creepy at the same time (The creepy abandoned ghost town and the crater sequence) and it makes the film look more frightening and well shot. One of the other things that I like about this movie is the characters. All of the characters are so likable and believable in the movie and you get to feel sorry and frightened for them at the horrible situation they are in when they realize that they are not alone and none of them were annoying at all which I truly think is so cool for the movie. What I also like about this movie is that this film is packed with loads of scenes that are very scary, suspenceful and gritty plus Ferocious as well (The intense opening scene, Big Bob getting attacked by Papa Jupiter and he later on gets burned alive, the attack at the trailer, the intense fight between Doug and Pluto at one of the abandoned houses that was bombed, the exploding trailer scene and the unexpected and suspenceful fight scene in the finale) and the scenes are extremely tense to the max. The other things that I enjoyed in this movie is that this film is also full of brutal and violent kills. Seriously all of the kills in this movie are shocking, wild, violent and extreme to the max (There's the brutal pick ax to the head, the shocking death of Big Bob, the killing inside the trailer were two girls both get shot one in the head the other in the stomach, the super graphic and gory suicide shotgun blast to the head, the bloody fight at the house between Doug and Pluto where you get to see Doug gets his fingers chopped off before he attacks Pluto with a screwdriver and then Doug gets the upper hand by stabbing him in the throat with a small American flag, the sequence where Cyst gets an Axe to the face, the nasty sequence where the dog Beast rips the throat of Goggle in a gory and horrific way and the brutal scene where Doug shoots Lizard three times with a shotgun.) and the gore goes all the way up in this film as you see loads or tons of blood gushing out of every kill and the gore and kills are pure shocking to the bones each of them is more disturbing than the last plus The soundtrack composed by Tomandandy is incredible and it really makes the film look grittier than the original. But what I like about this movie the most is the design of the cannibals in this film. While in the original the cannibals were tame and not scary enough because they look more like homeless people attacking a family. In this remake the cannibals are Cannibals in this film. They look real from their design and its like you are looking at someone who survived the atomic bombing of an area and each of them is extremely frightening and I think Pluto was the most terrifying out of the cannibals while Lizard is the most ferocious one and the cannibals look much better here than in the later on Wrong Turn films. Now the acting is amazing. You get to see loads of incredible performances from a stellar casts like Aaron Stanford as Doug Bukowski, Silence Of The Lambs actor Ted Levine as Big Bob, Vinessa Shaw as Doug Bukowski's wife and sister of Brenda and Bobby, Emilie De Ravin as Brenda Carter the youngest sister of Bobby then of course you have the young Dan Bird as Bobby Carter and from the mutants Michael Bailey Smith and Robert Joy deliver incredible yet terrifying and horrific performances as Pluto and Lizard respectively. Director and Writer Alexandre Aja did an amazing job in remaking Wes Craven's classic film of the same name. This is why I love French Directors because they know what they are doing and they know what audiences are scared of the most and I love how he created something grittier than Craven's original movie and I love the way Alexandre Aja kept the pacing in the proper direction without messing it up and I truly enjoyed the look of this movie thanks to Alexandre Aja this is the best movie he made since Haute Tension and Piranha 3D. Overall The Hills Have Eyes remake is a ferocious, intense, wild, bloody, gruesome, gory and violent Horror movie that delivers lots of thrills and suspense at the same time. This movie gets a 10.6/10.
Page 2 of 1004