The Golden Compass - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Golden Compass Reviews

Page 1 of 10
November 3, 2016
"The Golden Compass ultimately fails as a film in its broad strokes and inadequate scene development."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 22, 2011
The Golden Compass isn't bad, it's cast is too good and it's too well made, but something fundamental to good storytelling - heart - has been lost, leaving a final product as icy and impossible to care for as Mrs. Coulter herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 6, 2007
A movie with characters constantly explaining arcane concepts and only rarely doing anything about them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 20, 2008
I realize that when you make a book into a movie you cannot include every single detail, but it seems like Weitz purposely tried to take all of the magic out of the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 11, 2007
Wanting to appeal to a broad audience %u2014 especially young teens %u2014 is more than fine. It's admirable. But soulful, philosophical 13-year-olds do exist. They do! And they can even handle a religious discussion with lots of words involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/4
December 5, 2007
Chris Weitz dropped out of the film years ago because he thought he couldn't do this story justice. Turns out he was right; as a director he's competent but doesn't have 'sweeping epic' in him.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 3, 2007
Writer/director Chris Weitz brings a style that is more obligatory than deft. Constrained by a rushed feel and too little character development, this movie never seems to flow quite right.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 7, 2007
Why is it so joyless?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 7, 2007
Vagueness colors all, banishing emotional connections in the process.
December 13, 2007
'The Golden Compass' concludes in a way that left me feeling teased and cheated.
December 6, 2007
The toned-down movie version isn't so much anti-religion as it is anti-entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 12, 2007
If you haven't read the books, it can be like wandering into a stuffy church service in a cathedral for the first time.
Read More | Original Score: B-
August 27, 2009
Excruciating pap
December 7, 2007
Compass isn't well-made. The heroine is a pill, the issues are jumbled (maybe because of the attempt not to offend potential moviegoers) and the storytelling is clunky.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 7, 2007
Chris Weitz' film is a well-executed, but not especially warm adaptation of Philip Pullman's novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 19, 2008
This Compass points to the end of a would-be franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 2, 2007
Chris Weitz crams his story full of magical terms and concepts with a rapidity that leaves things confusing and thus meaningless.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 6, 2007
Weitz has the narrative leaping around frantically, managing to set up some interesting sequences but not much ongoing momentum.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 4, 2008
Sam Elliott shows up as a cowboy, who would normally be a pick-me-up, but with Golden Compass I just wanted to find my direction home.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
February 25, 2008
No, I didn't read the novel before seeing the film, and nothing in this shimmering disaster made me want to read it, either. Made me hate polar bears, and I used to love the darned things, so that's saying something.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 10