Hitman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hitman Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 22, 2011
Hitman the film is a conventional action thriller that seeks to do nothing more than entertain with an assortment of carnage and sex, at which it is moderately successful.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
November 22, 2007
If everything wasn't so deadly serious, I'd laugh, instead, I shook my head in complete disbelief.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 20, 2007
A Bourne knock-off, and not a very good one at that.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
April 10, 2008
An army of skinhead assassins in matching suits seems a bit conspicuous for an agency supposedly shrouded in secrecy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 21, 2007
Hitman feels like twenty short films played back to back, only a few of the mini-movies went missing, and the projectionist is hoping you won't notice.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 21, 2007
The formula is not that far removed from James Bond except there's a hole at its center. Agent 47, played by a virtually expressionless Timothy Olyphant, is a soulless, emotionally dead protagonist.
December 1, 2007
Though stylish shot and occasionally exciting in its frenetically-edited action sequences, this adaptation of the popular video game can only go so far with its mindless violence until cardboard characters and a dull plot snuff out the momentum.
April 23, 2009
Awkwardly paced and muddled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 3, 2007
As far as it being a video game, I was in the theater and I was trying to work the remote control to close the curtains and turn the sound down.
November 20, 2007
Plays like a music video without the music, a spectacle of shiny weapons, spurting blood, and Jesus Christ poses that would have benefited from more overlaid songs and less blabber.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 15, 2008
Hitman is inspired by a video game. That of course carries all sorts of baggage.
November 22, 2007
I haven't played the video game but I'm guessing the movie has chosen, for some reason, to re-create the story scenes that play between levels. The ones that players skip.
Full Review | Original Score: D
November 21, 2007
Hitman overstays its welcome from the moment the ammunition starts flying, and never finds a satisfying way of winning us back.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
March 6, 2008
47 doesn't even want the girl. What kind of action movie is this? A skippable one, ultimately.
November 21, 2007
Based on the video game franchise of the same title, Hitman exploits every action-flick cliché imaginable and still manages to be dull.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 20, 2007
An overcooked time killer that finds bad acting, bad direction, bad cinematography, and bad screenwriting in a furious race to dominate the running time. I'd call it a four-way tie.
Full Review | Original Score: D
December 3, 2007
...the very premise -- "elusive" killers walking around with shaved heads and barcode tattoos -- is idiotic on its face.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 28, 2007
Hitman is by no means great filmmaking but as video game adaptations go, it proves mindlessly entertaining and at least it's not irritatingly stupid.
November 24, 2007
If someone ran this guy through a scanner, the readout would say: "Mark down and stock in straight-to-video aisle."
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
November 20, 2007
A movie so bland it's hard to believe it was inspired by anything more than a Wikipedia entry on 'action thrillers.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6