Hoboken Hollow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hoboken Hollow Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ September 12, 2013
Very outdated and painfully boring.
½ October 2, 2012
This is a lot like Live Animals,but more twisted and thought out. It may be pretty much a Texas Chainsaw-esque film,especially with it including a family in Texas,but it is entertaining to watch either way and will make you cringe. The only bad things are that the effects are cheap and the minor characters have poor acting skills. Overall,good because of its entertainment value.
September 1, 2012
I love this movie!!! One of my favorite low budget films.
½ August 6, 2012
This film is surely one that Dennis Hopper would hate Jay Leno to show a clip of should he ever be a guest on "The Tonight Show".

It starts off with violence when a hitchhiker is hung (the movie is based on true events - horrible!). Hatefully violent and bloody, this film shows homeless people or hitchhikers being picked up under false pretenses of being offered a job on a ranch. In reality they are enslaved (this is in the 20th or 21st century I would guess), given very poor rooming shelters, fed poorly, worked desperately hard, treated like subhumans, beaten or shocked into submission and there is even a rather ugly woman who fully approves of the whole awful scene. The group who run the ranch are mostly men with the one woman taking part in their crimes against humanity.

Local law enforcement is of no help or protection to the captives. A horror film of horrific proportions, apparently the product of at least one sick imagination, this film shows a slave woman who is shocked then raped even as the ugly hearted woman looks on with a smile on her lips. It is a film like this that makes me happy that I never became an actor.

The only good thing about this film? The song "Swing Low, Sweet Chariot" by Don Roberts which plays over the ending credits. 0/10
March 14, 2012
Hmmm... It is well acted, but it's slow in places and VERY f**ked up. Which is usually good, but for some reason in this movie it doesn't work? I say watch Wrong Turn or something else, but hey, maybe worth watching just the once?
January 27, 2012
A low budget horror that doesn't leave much to the imagination. A recycled cliche that will bore you after 5 minutes!
FiLmCrAzY
Super Reviewer
½ January 27, 2012
Well i never hold out to much hope for horrors in all honesty and this film sure lives up to my very low expectations! Its a terrible movie and just mind numbingly boring! Not worth the effort!
June 11, 2011
this movie is pretty good movies r always better when they r based on real life events. this movie is based ob real events from texas enjoy
April 3, 2011
Hoboken Hollow is a mess and a half. You could seat the finest minds in cinematic history in a room, show them this shit and then ask them to decipher it all. And come the end, they will all be looking around with a confused expression, with their faith in humanity in tatters. It is just dreadful, and I am being very polite with that analysis. It is like a jigsaw with many missing pieces and an endless beef jerky supply.
½ March 10, 2011
This is a lot like Live Animals,but more twisted and thought out. It may be pretty much a Texas Chainsaw-esque film,especially with it including a family in Texas,but it is entertaining to watch either way and will make you cringe. The only bad things are that the effects are cheap and the minor characters have poor acting skills. Overall,good because of its entertainment value.
½ March 10, 2011
This is a lot like Live Animals,but more twisted and thought out. It may be pretty much a Texas Chainsaw-esque film,especially with it including a family in Texas,but it is entertaining to watch either way and will make you cringe. The only bad things are that the effects are cheap and the minor characters have poor acting skills. Overall,good because of its entertainment value.
½ February 10, 2011
Not terrible, but notthe greatest either...there were some hard to follow elements of the story.
January 14, 2011
As Trevor drifts through Texas on collision course with a nightmare he is still haunted by the evils of the war he recently returned from and a promise he failed to keep. When a stranger offers a ride, Trevor finds himself battling the brutal homegrown evil of the Broderick family at Hoboken Hollow,a remote West Texas ranch that many visit but few ever leave
½ October 15, 2010
Almost 5 stars on this! Absolutely loved it. Plot doesnt suffer from weak spots like a lot of stuff out there. It has some pretty gross scenes though for those who are squeamish. I never knew this movie existed I wonder why it wasnt heavilyt advertised its much better then a lot out there. It does start out with a little too much going on trying to figure out who is who but settles down quite quickly. I rank this right up there with the best, warning though it does have a slight independent movie feel if thats something you dont like. Dennis Hopper as the Sheriff who knew?
March 29, 2009
Grim pedestrian gore fest. Nothing to see here. Move along.
½ October 25, 2008
ok, this movie pretty much sucked! everything is just poorly executed here. like editing, sound, acting and so on and so on. surprisingly there actually was a couple of gory scenes, but don't waste your time with this one. and i am being very generous with my rating here.
½ October 22, 2008
Snore snore snore, blood, gore, crap crap crap crap crap crap crap. Porn quality acting. Confusing.

Do yourselves a favour. Get Wolf Creek instead.

If it wasn't a rental I would snap the disc!

( i put about as much effort into this review as the writer did into the film!)
Super Reviewer
October 11, 2008
The creators of this film, seem to have jumped aboard the band wagon and created another backpacker torture film ? unfortunately for them, it isn?t a very good one. It isn't a very original storyline, the whole film was predictable, the characters annoying and the couple of gory scenes shown really weren?t worth watching the entire film for.

I really can?t say a good word about it.
September 21, 2008
A true and deeply disturbing account of a sadistic torture ranch in Western Texas (where else). A sort of realistic version of 'The Devils Rejects', where driffters are picked up by the local sherrif (played by Dennis Hopper) and then unceremoniusly dumped on some sort of slave farm. If any dare complain or deemed not to be working hard enough, they were tortured and killed. the most frightening aspect of this story is the fact that when this sick family were caught, they were simply slapped on the wrist and told to move on. Apparently killing 'hobo's' in the US is not a serious crime (which is a bit of a worry)!
Page 1 of 4