Hollywood or Bust - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hollywood or Bust Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ July 27, 2015
Although the last outing for Martin & Lewis, the tension doesn't show. Not enough of Dino singing, a little too much of Jerry mugging, but a fine farewell for the Beatles of comedy.
Super Reviewer
August 29, 2014
The last film the boys did together is a throwaway, both of them having done 10 years of their act, so their routines were familiar to them both (and to us). Still, whether either of them would admit it by this stage (Martin reportedly told Lewis angrily once that "all you are to me is a dollar.") or not, their chemistry continued to pop. While certainly their routine is dated, a smile or two is still within their grasp as this work demonstrates.
Pat Crowley and Anita Ekberg are little more than window dressing to the boys antics, and they're not bad, but in this film a Great Dane has more to do.
January 29, 2014
The boys sign off with unbridled joy--End of an era!!
March 7, 2013
i love jerry lewis and dean martin they did great movies together...
December 22, 2012
Not the best Tashlin but it's highly enjoyable.
March 23, 2012
Great Lewis and Martin comedy. You're not a fan if you haven't seen this one.
March 13, 2011
Great Lewis and Martin comedy. You're not a fan if you haven't seen this one.
January 26, 2011
Pretty much barren, apart from the self-referential gags (although the pimping of both Paramount and VistaVision becomes tiresome), and the gambling scene where the Lewis/Martin combo [i]really[/i] works. The rest of it is a non-event, although the songs are OK.
½ July 6, 2009
a plot easily duplicated by scooby doo, especially the driving scene. and i don't remember seeing agnes moorehead in the movie. wow jerry lewis is annoying
April 6, 2009
Sad that this was thier last movie as a duo but what an ending. Funny, goofy and an adolescent 1950's male fantasy road trip movie. The scene with dog driving the car is still extremely funny.
½ June 16, 2008
Great for fans of that wacky, silly Tashlin aesthetic...
½ May 25, 2008
This is a funny movie
April 9, 2008
Jerry Lewis is a Legend.
½ March 1, 2008
A good way for Martin and Lewis to part ways. A touching, and enjoyable character comedy about two rivalling raffle winners who have to share a car on a trip to Hollywood. The movement from enmity to friendhsip is so classic Martin and Lewis, but is done wonderfully in this fun film.
½ February 16, 2008
The last Martin and Lewis movie, and maybe the best.
February 2, 2008
I grew up with this movie. My sister and I watched it all of the time. It's a lot of fun.
½ February 2, 2008
A hilarious riot of a film that takes the 50's postwar ideology on the road in an absurd triumph in Hollywood glorification.
½ January 29, 2008
Very funny. Scooby Doo and racism never looks so good.
July 30, 2007
I guess it was mostly made to triger a return of audiences to the movies, what with tv looking like a credible threat at the time...but hollywood's still here, and this movie's rather fun to watch.
Page 1 of 2