Home - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Home Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 29, 2015
Ursula Meier's study of an eccentric family's slide from bohemian happiness to a shared state of poor health and insanity. It is successful as both a psychological study and environmental commentary. And, it is also almost hypnotically entertaining.
½ September 7, 2014
A quiet and effective film.
½ August 30, 2014
Bizarro stangeness that ends on a memorable note.
Super Reviewer
March 15, 2014
Though it takes a while to get going - needing to establish that this family is happy and loves each other before the story complicates - this is a film that dramatizes its complaint about the pace of modern life very well. It sways back and forth between the realist and the absurd, and the way its walls close in is chilling. I really liked this one - Switzerland's submission for Best Foreign Language film in its year of release.
½ January 22, 2011
D'un sujet qui aurait pu se prêter à une certaine forme d'humour noir - la mise en service d'une autoroute va bouleverser le quotidien d'une famille riveraine - cette co-production francophone prend la route d'un drame qui, l'air de ne pas y toucher, progresse paisiblement vers une conclusion dont on devine dès le depart qu'elle ne sera pas rose. Les strategies de lutte contre l'adversite perdent rapidement leur côte decale à mesure que cette petite bulle d'harmonie familiale se fissure sous les offensives d'un monde exterieur bruyant et impersonnel (il n'y a en effet aucun intervenant exterieur à la famille!). A la logique de resistance deletère dans laquelle s'enferme cette famille soumise à une bouleversement sur lequel elle n'a aucune prise repond une asphyxie, reelle cette fois, dans une demeure integralement muree pour attenuer les nuisances sonores. Dans cette fable grinçante sur une "impossible solitude", on retrouve, en pire et en mieux pense, un schema d'implosion familiale qui n'est pas sans rappeler le fameux "Sitcom" de François Ozon, et ce microcosme qui finit par ne plus obeir qu'à sa propre logique pour survivre annonce dejà le glauque et grec "Kynodonthas". Un drame europeen comme on aimerait en voir plus souvent qui, sous un vernis d'absurde, en revèle finalement beaucoup plus sur tous les sujets que beaucoup d'autres.
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2010
Cast list on this page used to be confused with the 2008 French film with Isabelle Huppert. (Thanks for fixing this Flixter!)
September 7, 2010
Not bad. My critisism would be that it's a 20 minute short film drawn out to be an 80 minute feature film. Way too slow and a lot of unnecessary scenes.
April 3, 2010
I'm watching this right now!!!
August 3, 2009
Being a mother and having lived with an alcoholic single mother, I was moved by this movie. I knew what the little girl was going through when her mother would get drunk and tell her horrible things. At the same time, I know what it's like to love your child.
After all this family went through, I thought the ending was perfect.
½ July 17, 2009
Marcia and her daughter are compelling. but what's with the description on this movie? it's not about a big road trip - it's about Marcia's character trying to find her new way in the world, in 1969, after a mastectomy.
July 5, 2009
I thought this was a well written indie drama. Marcia Gay Harden never disappoints she always picks unique and interesting roles for herself. I really enjoyed the simplicity of the story and characters. Also the airy quality it possessed everything just flowed together just like the poems just to move the story along.
Page 1 of 1