The Horse's Mouth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Horse's Mouth Reviews

Page 1 of 4
April 12, 2016
Guinness is absolutely wonderful playing Gully Jimson. What I enjoyed about this film is how a scruffy, dirty painter has such a high art form. It makes you think about how much undiscovered talent is in our world because we focus to much on appearances than art.
April 7, 2016
Guinness is brilliant.
November 18, 2015
A nice, light comedy, but an even nicer performance from Alec Guinness who really gets to grips with his volatile and angry artist, so much so we do see a flawed genius in his character.
September 27, 2015
Guinness plays a rude obnoxious artist who plans to paint a controversial mural. A 1950s banksy if you will
Super Reviewer
July 12, 2015
A great portrayal of artistic genius/madness. Doing the film as a comedy is probably what makes most of whats being said about the impossibility of artistic fulfillment more palatable. Guinness' performance is perfection.
½ September 23, 2014
What a strange, really British film. I feel a lot of the comedy is lost in translation. That voice Guinness does is really grating. Can't say I found much that was funny, though parts were enjoyable enough while others went on too long.
June 24, 2014
bio pic of sorts based on the early years of poet dylan thomas
June 11, 2014
Classic 1958 British comedy (sorry, few jokes about bodily functions or... meat) starring Alec Guinness as artist Gully Jimson. He's just finished serving 30 days in jail-- they won't let him come back-- so he's off in search of lost paintings, a loan and the perfect wall to paint. Quote: "my better self keeps following me like a whipped dog."
½ March 24, 2013
Younger viewers might be surprise and even shocked to see Guinness -- so full of gravitas as the venerable Obi Wan Kenobi -- playing the self-involved, tetchy and unreliable Gulley Jimson. It's a role Guinness wanted to play and in fact he scripted the film, based on Joyce Cary's novel (one of a trilogy) His performance comes from the heart and soul; he is Gulley Jimson, and that's the saving grace for a character who, in the hands of a lesser actor, would make you want to drop kick him into the middle of next week. You may not come out of the film comprehending the mind of an artist, but you will almost certainly come to cherish its desire to create freely.
Super Reviewer
½ August 25, 2012
Alec Guinness out does himself in this comic slice of life of an all out artist visionary, ever on the lookout for his next drink, woman, or blank wall space ... and perhaps in just that order as well. Over-the-top, loud, and rambunctious, and that's before he's out of bed in the morning, his friends struggle to understand him while everyone else gazes on in sheer disbelief. A bit o'fun from England, and written by Guinness as well.
June 20, 2012
recommended by rubystevens.....
March 10, 2012
Alec Guiness playing a disheveled, scruffy artist. Can't get much better than that.
½ July 10, 2011
[95/A] One of the splendid pinnacles of Guinness' character-rich career, as meticulous as it is madcap, and an anarchic, drunken dance to the jaunty bars of Sergei Prokofiev's Lieutenat Kije.

Guinness plays Gulley Jimson, a reclusive, incorrigible, alcohol-scented hobo painter whose beatific artistic visions far surpass the hypocritical and drearily boring milieu of postwar London. Despite his glaring flaws and irresponsibility, and occasional mean-spirited rantings, Jimson is comical and likable, a man who cannot compromise with very much of society, but whose heart undeniably beats for the beautiful.

There is an underpinning of sadness to Jimson's raffish pursuit of the formal realization of his artistic visions. Though he runs roughshod over mostly everyone and everybody, in quite hilarious ways, trying to manifest the sublime at the expense of the homes and pocketbooks of well-to-do patrons, it is as if he is chasing a divine butterfly, one that is destined to elude him as it does the rest of unsuspecting, blind society.

The irascible, Diogenes-like Jimson gets the last word, or at least disappears on his own terms, but the movie casts a pessimistic eye upon the theme of the viability of ideals within the absurd normality and banality of compromise, practicality, and conformism.
½ February 25, 2011
An utterly superb comic masterpiece about a scruffy, lovable artist (Alec Guinness) and the question to create...and the Prokofiev music really adds a lot of fun energy too.
November 17, 2010
I don't have much to say about this out-dated British comedy about artists.
November 9, 2010
nice funny sweet film Alec Guinness great as always
August 22, 2010
certainly one of the best roles alec guiness ever played. there are a few pretty good laughs in this one, and the ideas driving the film are interesting, but i dont get the sense that film is the best medium for this. i havent read joyce carys novel but i get the sense that the novel accomplishes a lot more than the film did. but it is a joy to watch guiness regardless.
August 2, 2010
Just not that funny.
½ June 25, 2010
Gully Jimson is the man.
Page 1 of 4