Torch Singer (Broadway Singer) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Torch Singer (Broadway Singer) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
September 19, 2015
Claudette Colbert sparkles and shines in the title role; soapy, old-fashioned fun.
½ December 14, 2014
who doesnt love claudette colbert
½ August 11, 2013
Shines brightly through the ages!
½ November 14, 2012
this pre-code drama has a sucky ending but still worth a view
October 17, 2012
2: A baby out of wedlock, adoption, abandonment, etc. Topics that were not often depicted on the silver scene after the production-code went into effect. I must say that I think overall the code was a good thing though. I provided a wall against which the more independent-minded in Hollywood could hurl themselves. It also forced writers, directors, etc to become creative and allowed for much more inventive innuendo and metaphor. This is a pretty straight forward and forgettable film. The only thing really unique about it is the subject matter, so it serves more as a historical curiosity than a work of entertainment. A bit too melodramatic and abrupt at the conclusion.
½ June 25, 2012
what was so wrong with beong a torch singer?
April 13, 2012
I was a little surprised I liked this movie as much as I did. The singing was enjoyable and Colbert played her role extremely well.
Super Reviewer
½ October 30, 2010
Predictable, and with a sort of round about feeling at times, but it has a good ending. I liked it, but it's not the best movie, it could be better.
May 20, 2010
Cary Grant is not in this movie, not even as an uncredited nightclub patron.
Super Reviewer
½ August 16, 2009
Three fourths a good movie but the ending is pure corn. Claudette's wardrobe, especially her stage gowns, is amazing.
April 26, 2009
Another damned good pre-coder. Watching these, it actually makes most films these days kinda sad since the woman are all victims, where asin these old ones, they really take control of there lives.
Page 1 of 1