The Hot Chick - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hot Chick Reviews

Page 2 of 5
Top Critic
Scott Brown
Entertainment Weekly
December 16, 2002
A surprisingly good-natured throwback to the '80s heyday of the body-switching genre.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Paul Clinton (Boxoffice)
Boxoffice Magazine
December 16, 2002
Rob Schneider's infantile cross-dressing routines fill The Hot Chick, the latest gimmick from this unimaginative comedian.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
December 16, 2002
Schneider's mugging is relentless and his constant need to suddenly transpose himself into another character undermines the story's continuity and progression.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye
December 16, 2002
Somehow, Schneider enthusiasts will find their needed escapism in a clueless comedy that has more holes in it than rotted Swiss cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
December 16, 2002
I will say this for the film -- it's in color. And, it was mostly in focus. And I really can't say anymore for it beyond that.
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
December 15, 2002
Even by the low standards of Saturday Night Live-alumni movies, "The Hot Chick" is simply excruciating. It is loathsome, offensive, vile, and, even worse, it is not funny.
| Original Score: 1/5
Danny Minton
KBTV-NBC (Beaumont, TX)
December 15, 2002
Half of the humor goes into the "how could they possibly have thought that was funny?" file.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Blake French
Filmcritic.com
December 14, 2002
Deep down, I realized the harsh reality of my situation: I would leave the theater with a lower I.Q. than when I had entered.
| Original Score: 1/5
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
December 14, 2002
A farce of a parody of a comedy of a premise, it isn't a comparison to reality so much as it is a commentary about our knowledge of films.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
December 13, 2002
An admittedly by-the-numbers affair, but garners some hearty and unexpected laughs through the machinations of its premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
December 13, 2002
It contains the most insufferably lame outtakes of any movie that I can ever remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joe Leydon
San Francisco Examiner
December 13, 2002
Its and pieces of The Hot Chick are so hilarious, and Schneider's performance is so fine, it's a real shame that so much of the movie -- again, as in The Animal -- is a slapdash mess.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
December 13, 2002
By the standards of knucklehead swill, The Hot Chick is pretty damned funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
C.W. Nevius
San Francisco Chronicle
December 13, 2002
Instead of the easy laughs, Schneider and Brady are going for something a little deeper.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
December 13, 2002
Strictly a 'guy's film' in the worst sense of the expression.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
December 13, 2002
This unabashedly stupid comedy is, well, unabashedly stupid.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Dan Gross
Philadelphia Daily News
December 13, 2002
It is silly enough to keep you laughing.
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
December 13, 2002
Too lazy to take advantage of its semi-humorous premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
December 13, 2002
The bodily function jokes are about what you'd expect, but there are rich veins of funny stuff in this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
December 13, 2002
At more than 100 minutes, this alleged comedy is easily the worst thing Schneider's done to date.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 2 of 5