House of 1000 Corpses - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

House of 1000 Corpses Reviews

Page 1 of 342
½ October 22, 2016
Gore gore gore gore.
September 28, 2016
This movie is a psychedelic death romp, Zombie's characters are the best!
½ September 26, 2016
Rob Zombie's feature debut is fearlessly sadistic, and it features many affectionate nods to some splatter classics, and some memorable villains. Unfortunately, there is very little to latch onto in this film; likable characters, compelling story, etc. But the images onscreen will be forever seared into my brain, and I have to give the film credit for that.
½ September 18, 2016
I really don't like Rob Zombie's style of film-making. His films are silly comedy horrors that are neither funny nor scary. I would guess that they are targeted at sweaty heavy-metal fan geeks who think that bad movies are the best kind. I previously saw the devils rejects which I guess is another part of this story, I don't remember how it stacked up against this, and that tells you everything you need to know.
August 7, 2016
Rob Zombie has been a horror fan for years. So when he decided to make a film it was no surprise that he would make a horror film. House of a 1000 Corpses is his first nightmarish vision captured on film. Corpses, though a flawed film, does it's job at creating something new and exciting. We are introduced the most deranged family in horror history since the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. One thing thats very interesting about the characters is that every characters are named after Groucho Marx characters. House Of A 1000 is a thrilling, rejuvenating film in the horror genre and some fans and critics alike have noticed similarities between this film, and TCM. Some claim that Rob Zombie plays out his as a homage to the old school horror films. In part, I'd say it's true. But in the end, who cares? He's made a good little horror film thats worth to check out, and it doesn't matter if it's a homage or not. The film still terrifies across the screen, and by the films end you know that the Firefly family are not to be messed with.
½ August 4, 2016
Director Rob Zombie seems to bring back old style horror films from the 1970's. But the result is unpleasant and disturbing imagery with little sense of logic. House Of 1,000 corpuses is saved by convincing acting and creepy atmosphere
August 3, 2016
5-star review for the first 45min of this movie, and yes the end is kinda dull and not that great but somehow it doesn't matter to me. The music, charactes and the gore I became a big fan. See it and judge yourself, don't pass this based on bad reviews!!!
July 23, 2016
House of 1000 Corpses (2003) C-89m. ?? D: Rob Zombie. Sid Haig, Karen Black, Bill Moseley, others. If not the worst movie ever made, certainly one of the worst examples of entertainment on film. Four nerdy kids take wrong turn on road trip and arrive on a plantation owned by a family of sadistic cannibals. Sound familiar? TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE this ain't; writer-director Zombie also throws in needless grainy filters with random music at any and every opportunity possible that detracts from his story. No suspense, no originality, no appeal, just a lot of gratuitous gore and utterances of the F* word . . . and despite being only 89 minutes, it drones on forever. What's more, the ending makes no sense. What a piece of junk. Zombie filmed a sequel in 2005 called THE DEVIL'S REJECTS.
½ July 19, 2016
Derivative as it may be, this is a crazy adrenaline rush of a slasher flick that stands out among the crowd. Not for its storytelling necessarily, but for Rob Zombie's love and devotion to strong horror stories, as well as Sid Haig's breathtaking, scenery-chewing turn as the maniacal Captain Spaulding. This is a fun splatter fest from the word 'go'.
Super Reviewer
June 19, 2016
An unpleasant experience akin to being raped, or, in other words, a stupid, unscary and repellent gore fest that begins very well but then tries too hard to be "rock 'n' roll" and full of style with an irritating large amount of references and awful cutaway scenes inserted everywhere.
½ May 28, 2016
I rented this when it first came out and hated it. I watched again over a decade later and I still don't like it. Rob Zombie's work is all the same. A bunch of gore, shots of random things with the colors reversed, a bunch of 70's references & music, people with face paint, odd masks, and lots of weird & disturbing imagery. It's not completely terrible, but most of it is basically torture porn.
May 12, 2016
Big big fan of Rob Zombie's masterpiece. It had the right amount of left field visuals/surprises, and the perfect villains for the plot. The only thing that kept this movie from getting 4.5* was a portion towards the end that stood apart from the rest of the movie, in a negative sense. I'm not referring to the ending, so don't worry, this movie doesn't fall into 'that' horror cliche... I guess the only way I can describe it is that the rest of the movie is so f'n awesome, hence these 1-2 scenes I'm referring to really stand out.
But overall the movie does a great job of mixing together supherb horror acting + engaging dialogue/exchanges + captivating visuals + wonderfully apt/cool score. Rob Zombie: thanks for doing exactly what you said this movie would do.
April 30, 2016
Lacking in scares and a complete waste of time.
April 3, 2016
Somewhat disturbing, but entertaining. Watch this well known B-movie and be prepared for a stomach turning experience.
½ March 30, 2016
Saw this on 30/3/16
Even Rob Zombie hates this film and there's no wonder why. Zombie has terrifically improved as a director in the follow up, The Devil's Rejects, but here, the entire narrative is unfocussed, poorly directed and shot. Sid Haig is the only good thing about this otherwise unbearable film, but Haig has only very small screen time. 1000 corpses is neither scary, pulpy nor is it funny.
March 13, 2016
Don't take this too seriously- it's a homage to 70s horror flicks. It's laced with silly puns, oddly placed gore & tongue-in-cheek innuendos. But it's perfectly watchable!
½ February 2, 2016
I'm really surprised all these people don't like this movie. It's really crazy and full of murders, I really thing it's the best Rob Zombie movie
½ January 17, 2016
Satanic garbage. If you have any morals you won't waste your time with Rob Zombie's sick vision of glorifying evil.
January 1, 2016
this movie was okay but it needed more blood, guts, and gore considering what the name of the movie is, I do love the self titled theme song though which is in fact my second all time favorite rob zombie song, the song gets five stars right on the spot, the reason I give the movie three stars is because of the lack of blood and gore, I hope rob zombie releases the director's cut with all the blood and gore restored
December 30, 2015
12/30/2015: Not near as good as I remembered it being when it first came out.
Page 1 of 342