The House of Mirth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The House of Mirth Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 21, 2001
So mannered and discreet that it's dull.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 5, 2001
A somber experience that drags on and on at a ponderous pace that would be far too slow if you didn't need the time to construct your own plot in its apparent absence.
| Original Score: 3/5
December 22, 2000
The most bloodless and least involving film about turn-of-the-century society since Merchant-Ivory's The Bostonians.
November 27, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
July 2, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
January 1, 2000
It's impossible to describe the awfulness of this thing -- still, for my own catharsis, I'll give it a shot.
| Original Score: void
January 1, 2000
The joyless tone seeps off the screen and ultimately takes its toll on the viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Davies becomes so transfixed by the detail of this self-enclosed world of privileged hypocrites that he omits to give his film any emotional drive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
An awful film that features some of the worst acting to deface the big screen in quite some time.
January 1, 2000
Perhaps a director more attuned to actors' performances would help, but Davies seems too preoccupied posing them to take notice.
December 8, 2000
Meticulous in every insignificant detail but excruciatingly slow and emotionally bloodless.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
December 21, 2000
A useless movie with hateful characters we care not a whit for.
December 21, 2000
The miscast leads make this stately, BBC-ish adaptation ponderous instead of pointed.
January 10, 2001
There's so much unmitigated misery to contend with that the story nearly turns comical.
February 7, 2001
Plays more like Scenes From Edith Wharton's Novel than a dramatically involving adaptation.
February 7, 2001
I can't recall another movie that cries out so incessantly for running commentary.
February 7, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 7, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 22, 2000
Anderson's talent has many notes, and I liked the presence she brought to Lily Bart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 25, 2000
The power of its story -- especially in the latter moments -- will leave many stunned and deeply affected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5