Comment j'ai tué mon père (My Father and I) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Comment j'ai tué mon père (My Father and I) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
September 20, 2002
How I Killed My Father is one of those art house films that makes you feel like you're watching an iceberg melt -- only it never melts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Dennis Lim
Village Voice
August 20, 2002
Rather less than the sum of its underventilated père-fils confrontations.
Top Critic
Elvis Mitchell
New York Times
August 22, 2002
Viewing this underdramatized but overstated film is like watching a transcript of a therapy session brought to humdrum life by some Freudian puppet.
| Original Score: 2/5
Greg Muskewitz
eFilmCritic.com
October 29, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Halverson
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 22, 2002
This is a harrowing movie about how parents know where all the buttons are, and how to push them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye
September 1, 2002
In the disturbingly involving family dysfunctional drama How I Killed My Father, French director Anne Fontaine delivers an inspired portrait of male-ridden angst and the emotional blockage that accompanies this human condition
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
December 20, 2002
This is a fascinating film because there is no clear-cut hero and no all-out villain.
| Original Score: 4/4
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
August 22, 2002
A compelling French psychological drama examining the encounter of an aloof father and his chilly son after 20 years apart.
Arthur Lazere
culturevulture.net
September 12, 2002
Fontaine masterfully creates a portrait of two strong men in conflict, inextricably entwined through family history, each seeing himself in the other, neither liking what he sees.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
August 26, 2003
A bela construção de personagens merece elogios.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
August 23, 2002
The simmering strengths of How I Killed My Father owe much to its two male leads.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
August 31, 2002
The murder is metaphorical in Anne Fontaine's exquisite French character study How I Killed My Father, but it's still shocking in the quietest, most well-mannered of ways.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
December 19, 2003
Hushed but scalpel-sharp drama, a movie that'll probably send men in the audience home much quieter than they arrived.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 27, 2002
Sad, yet interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 21, 2002
It's a tour de force, written and directed so quietly that it's implosion rather than explosion you fear.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
June 14, 2002
A complex psychological drama about a father who returns to his son's home after decades away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
July 17, 2003
Brilliantly and pitilessly dissects a father-son relationship that has deteriorated beyond dysfunction.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Luke Y. Thompson
New Times
September 12, 2002
[T]he pleasure is in watching veteran star Bouquet and the versatile Berling go at it -- they even seem to look alike.
Tom Dawson
BBC.com
August 5, 2002
Avoiding simplistic psychological 'explanations', The Way I Killed My Father scrutinizes the Oedipal father-son conflict with icy assurance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 3