Comment j'ai tué mon père (My Father and I) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Comment j'ai tué mon père (My Father and I) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 20, 2002
How I Killed My Father is one of those art house films that makes you feel like you're watching an iceberg melt -- only it never melts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 20, 2002
Rather less than the sum of its underventilated père-fils confrontations.
August 22, 2002
Viewing this underdramatized but overstated film is like watching a transcript of a therapy session brought to humdrum life by some Freudian puppet.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 29, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 7, 2008
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 22, 2002
This is a harrowing movie about how parents know where all the buttons are, and how to push them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 1, 2002
In the disturbingly involving family dysfunctional drama How I Killed My Father, French director Anne Fontaine delivers an inspired portrait of male-ridden angst and the emotional blockage that accompanies this human condition
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 20, 2002
This is a fascinating film because there is no clear-cut hero and no all-out villain.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
August 22, 2002
A compelling French psychological drama examining the encounter of an aloof father and his chilly son after 20 years apart.
September 12, 2002
Fontaine masterfully creates a portrait of two strong men in conflict, inextricably entwined through family history, each seeing himself in the other, neither liking what he sees.
August 26, 2003
A bela construção de personagens merece elogios.
| Original Score: 3/5
August 23, 2002
The simmering strengths of How I Killed My Father owe much to its two male leads.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 31, 2002
The murder is metaphorical in Anne Fontaine's exquisite French character study How I Killed My Father, but it's still shocking in the quietest, most well-mannered of ways.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 19, 2003
Hushed but scalpel-sharp drama, a movie that'll probably send men in the audience home much quieter than they arrived.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 27, 2002
Sad, yet interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 21, 2002
It's a tour de force, written and directed so quietly that it's implosion rather than explosion you fear.
June 14, 2002
A complex psychological drama about a father who returns to his son's home after decades away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2003
Brilliantly and pitilessly dissects a father-son relationship that has deteriorated beyond dysfunction.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
September 12, 2002
[T]he pleasure is in watching veteran star Bouquet and the versatile Berling go at it -- they even seem to look alike.
August 5, 2002
Avoiding simplistic psychological 'explanations', The Way I Killed My Father scrutinizes the Oedipal father-son conflict with icy assurance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 3