Comment j'ai tué mon père (My Father and I) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Comment j'ai tué mon père (My Father and I) Reviews

December 19, 2003
Hushed but scalpel-sharp drama, a movie that'll probably send men in the audience home much quieter than they arrived.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 27, 2003
Watching these two actors play against each other so intensely, but with restraint, is a treat.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 26, 2002
Trés French, trés fascinating psychodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 22, 2002
This is a harrowing movie about how parents know where all the buttons are, and how to push them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 21, 2002
Cold, nervy and memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 2, 2002
The film is about the relationships rather than about the outcome. And it sees those relationships, including that between the son and his wife, and the wife and the father, and between the two brothers, with incredible subtlety and acumen.
October 8, 2002
Fontaine's direction, especially her agreeably startling use of close-ups and her grace with a moving camera, creates sheerly cinematic appeal.
September 20, 2002
Bouquet gives a performance that is masterly.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 12, 2002
Penetrating and emotionally complex.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 12, 2002
An intelligent, moving and invigorating film.
August 31, 2002
The murder is metaphorical in Anne Fontaine's exquisite French character study How I Killed My Father, but it's still shocking in the quietest, most well-mannered of ways.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 30, 2002
Rarely, indeed almost never, is such high-wattage brainpower coupled with pitch-perfect acting and an exquisite, unfakable sense of cinema.
August 23, 2002
The simmering strengths of How I Killed My Father owe much to its two male leads.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 23, 2002
A top-notch study of family angst.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 22, 2002
Viewing this underdramatized but overstated film is like watching a transcript of a therapy session brought to humdrum life by some Freudian puppet.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2002
Demonstrates why nowadays the best thing you can say about an American movie is that it plays like a French film.
August 20, 2002
Rather less than the sum of its underventilated père-fils confrontations.
August 15, 2002
A solid examination of the male midlife crisis.