How I Live Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How I Live Now Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Stephen Danay
Under the Radar
August 18, 2014
Based on the YA novel by Meg Rosoff, How I Live Now finds itself hindered by its source material, even as it seeks to surpass it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
May 15, 2014
Saoirse Ronan supplies what the screenwriters do not
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ray Pride
Newcity
April 5, 2014
Lush and bewilderingly rich with portent and moment, Kevin Macdonald's gently wrought apocalyptic-pop teen romance takes place in a deadly near future in the English countryside far from the center of modern war.
Anna Tatarska
Movie Mezzanine
March 13, 2014
How I Live Now is likely to appeal to both teens and older viewers, and it thankfully doesn't blindly follow formulas, but allows itself to drift and flow.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Lee Zachariah
Concrete Playground
February 28, 2014
On the outside, How I Live Now looks like a mess. Part Tomorrow When the War Began, part The Shining, part 28 Days Later, it's a hodgepodge of concepts that don't completely gel. So it's weird that the film is actually quite good.
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
February 18, 2014
Not having read the book on which this impressive film is based I was completely unprepared for the way the narrative developed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Jonathan Romney
Film Comment Magazine
February 6, 2014
[A]rguably delves into country matters more deeply than any precursor in cinema.
Glenn Dunks
Quickflix
January 29, 2014
The strength of How I Live Now is its refreshingly stripped back aesthetic, committed performances from its young cast, and a screenplay that doesn't sugar-coat its horrors or the way teenagers interact.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 8, 2013
This latest from director Kevin Macdonald (of pics like The Last King Of Scotland and State Of Play) is drawn from a 'young adult' novel by Meg Rosoff but, surprisingly, proves rather more adult than expected.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
December 5, 2013
"...a harrowing anti-war movie that's only a bit relieved by a bittersweet love story."
Full Review | Original Score: 86/100
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
December 2, 2013
How I Live Now could have been called 'Tomorrow When The War Began in rural England and my cousins and I decided to live a hippy rural existence until sh*t got real'; but that would have been far too literal.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 28, 2013
The film's well-judged moments of horror and violence are charged with terror and moral abandon, perfect counterpoints to the safety and security Daisy (Saoirse Ronan) is seeking for herself and her petrified little cousin.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Cara Nash
FILMINK (Australia)
November 25, 2013
Macdonald commendably refuses to soften the blow in a couple of unforgettable scenes - setting this teen epic bravely apart from its peers.
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
November 23, 2013
Ronan's spectacular star turn makes the pro forma young adult love story plotting intimately, painfully real.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
November 21, 2013
Doesn't really need a war ordeal to embellish it. Daisy herself should be story enough.
Katherine Monk
Canada.com
November 15, 2013
Kevin Macdonald doesn't make "horror movies," yet the director can conjure screen moments that are perfectly paralyzing without the aid of a serrated blade, hatchet, chainsaw, ice pick or even the trusted rusty pair of scissors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Globe and Mail
November 15, 2013
Refreshingly free of digital apocalyptics and unnervingly prone to random violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
November 15, 2013
Unlike in a horror movie, dead bodies are something to mourn, not to ogle, and the mood is tense and melancholy -- more World War II (there's talk of rationing) than science-fiction Armageddon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
November 14, 2013
How I Live Now centres on what happens to a group of young people when civilization begins to crumble. But it's also a poignant love story, a compelling, against-all-odds one at that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Matt Prigge
Metro
November 14, 2013
'How I Live Now' deserves credit for getting pretty close to the brink (and for including actual sex and lots of swearing).
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 6