How I Live Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How I Live Now Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 8, 2013
With jarring tonal shifts between a teen romance and a bleak wartime drama, How I Live Now is an off-kilter, morally problematic film that a great young cast cannot save.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
February 10, 2014
It's easy to see what the filmmakers were going for: a story of young love and survival during wartime, but there are far too many holes in this story and a lack of essential ingredients to make it work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 8, 2013
Stultifyingly unambitious.
November 7, 2013
I'm not sure whom this movie's for, really.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2013
The production feels tentative and underpopulated: I thought not only of Katniss Everdeen but of the marvelous pandemonium in Danny Boyle's zombie epic "28 Days Later."
November 4, 2013
There are a few effectively disquieting sequences early on, but the film never recovers from director Kevin Macdonald's indifferent staging of a pivotal moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 11, 2013
Proof there can still be boring stories during extraordinary times.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0
September 11, 2013
There's a lack of imagination at play - it's OK if a broken society looks drab, but it shouldn't look boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 18, 2014
I did not believe what was happening. I didn't particularly like the performances.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 8, 2013
Instead of showing Daisy and Eddie falling for each other through genuine interaction, we just get lots of montages of them giving googly eyes at one another. It just didn't fit with the raw nature of the film's tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 14, 2013
There's not enough real transition on the part of Daisy, despite the work Ronan puts in, but that's not enough to make this end-of-the-world movie the end of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 7, 2013
A frosty-eyed, imperturbable actress in "Atonement," "Hanna" and "The Host," Ronan is at least able to sell Daisy's new focus while the movie loses its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 7, 2013
Eddie's touch of supernatural ability ultimately proves pointless, leaving Ronan's highly watchable, empathetic performance to carry us through a sloggy nightmare fraught with a mixture of mild suspense and plodding inanition.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 11, 2013
Ronan is almost always worth watching, but not especially in this drippy outing, in which she morphs from sullen teen brat to can-do wilderness heroine under the influence of an attractive red-headed hawk trainer.
October 24, 2013
Isn't a mess, but it's indirect, irritatingly so, wasting a tempting premise on half-baked emotions and aimless moments of distress that should be far more penetrating than they actually are.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 8, 2013
Just because virtually any story can be told through the eyes of a solipsistic teen girl doesn't mean that it should be.
November 8, 2013
As Daisy's conflicts become more typical of the genre (which was especially crowded this summer), there aren't any new insights to unearth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 7, 2013
It's tough to forget Saoirse Ronan's three 2013 stinkers for long during How I Live Now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2013
Mark this one as a clinker.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 8, 2013
There's nothing in the character, or Ronan's performance, to draw you in. She enters the film like a junior-grade Lindsay Lohan - all hard eyes and dyed hair and proactive disapproval - and bores almost immediately.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 6