How I Live Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How I Live Now Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Jordan Adler
We Got This Covered
November 8, 2013
With jarring tonal shifts between a teen romance and a bleak wartime drama, How I Live Now is an off-kilter, morally problematic film that a great young cast cannot save.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
February 10, 2014
It's easy to see what the filmmakers were going for: a story of young love and survival during wartime, but there are far too many holes in this story and a lack of essential ingredients to make it work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
October 8, 2013
Stultifyingly unambitious.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
November 7, 2013
I'm not sure whom this movie's for, really.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
November 7, 2013
The production feels tentative and underpopulated: I thought not only of Katniss Everdeen but of the marvelous pandemonium in Danny Boyle's zombie epic "28 Days Later."
Chuck Bowen
Slant Magazine
November 4, 2013
There are a few effectively disquieting sequences early on, but the film never recovers from director Kevin Macdonald's indifferent staging of a pivotal moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jordan Hoffman
Film.com
September 11, 2013
Proof there can still be boring stories during extraordinary times.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0
Henry Barnes
Guardian
September 11, 2013
There's a lack of imagination at play - it's OK if a broken society looks drab, but it shouldn't look boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
February 18, 2014
I did not believe what was happening. I didn't particularly like the performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Austin Kennedy
Film Geek Central
November 8, 2013
Instead of showing Daisy and Eddie falling for each other through genuine interaction, we just get lots of montages of them giving googly eyes at one another. It just didn't fit with the raw nature of the film's tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Anders Wright
San Diego Union-Tribune
November 14, 2013
There's not enough real transition on the part of Daisy, despite the work Ronan puts in, but that's not enough to make this end-of-the-world movie the end of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
November 7, 2013
A frosty-eyed, imperturbable actress in "Atonement," "Hanna" and "The Host," Ronan is at least able to sell Daisy's new focus while the movie loses its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dann Gire
Chicago Daily Herald
November 7, 2013
Eddie's touch of supernatural ability ultimately proves pointless, leaving Ronan's highly watchable, empathetic performance to carry us through a sloggy nightmare fraught with a mixture of mild suspense and plodding inanition.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Hollywood Reporter
September 11, 2013
Ronan is almost always worth watching, but not especially in this drippy outing, in which she morphs from sullen teen brat to can-do wilderness heroine under the influence of an attractive red-headed hawk trainer.
Brian Orndorf
Blu-ray.com
October 24, 2013
Isn't a mess, but it's indirect, irritatingly so, wasting a tempting premise on half-baked emotions and aimless moments of distress that should be far more penetrating than they actually are.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
November 8, 2013
Just because virtually any story can be told through the eyes of a solipsistic teen girl doesn't mean that it should be.
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
November 8, 2013
As Daisy's conflicts become more typical of the genre (which was especially crowded this summer), there aren't any new insights to unearth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Pais
RedEye
November 7, 2013
It's tough to forget Saoirse Ronan's three 2013 stinkers for long during How I Live Now.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
November 7, 2013
Mark this one as a clinker.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
November 8, 2013
There's nothing in the character, or Ronan's performance, to draw you in. She enters the film like a junior-grade Lindsay Lohan - all hard eyes and dyed hair and proactive disapproval - and bores almost immediately.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 6