How I Live Now - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

How I Live Now Reviews

November 15, 2013
Refreshingly free of digital apocalyptics and unnervingly prone to random violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 14, 2013
How I Live Now centres on what happens to a group of young people when civilization begins to crumble. But it's also a poignant love story, a compelling, against-all-odds one at that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 14, 2013
"How I Live Now" makes World War III seem boring, which would hardly seem possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 14, 2013
There's a clear message here: Sometimes it takes extraordinary circumstances to realize it, but we all have the capacity to shed our petty concerns and focus on the greater good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 8, 2013
How I Live Now offers adolescents a lovely vision of holistic healing in the same countryside.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 8, 2013
There's a lot left unsaid in How I Live Now - but it's unsaid with unusual force.
November 8, 2013
"How I Live Now" is uncomfortably easy to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 8, 2013
How I Live Now manages to fuse a teen love story, steeped in alienation and hurt, with a near-future nightmare thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 8, 2013
Just because virtually any story can be told through the eyes of a solipsistic teen girl doesn't mean that it should be.
November 8, 2013
For much of its running time the movie is grab-you-by-the-back-of-the-neck immediate; in its last third particularly, the bite-your-lip moments of suspense and tension mount to the extent that you may well draw blood.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 8, 2013
There's nothing in the character, or Ronan's performance, to draw you in. She enters the film like a junior-grade Lindsay Lohan - all hard eyes and dyed hair and proactive disapproval - and bores almost immediately.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2013
Mr. Macdonald struggles to balance a nebulous narrative on tentpole moments of rich emotional resonance.
November 7, 2013
"How I Live Now" is a showcase for Ronan to prove that she's capable of more than pristine, angelic roles.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2013
The production feels tentative and underpopulated: I thought not only of Katniss Everdeen but of the marvelous pandemonium in Danny Boyle's zombie epic "28 Days Later."
November 7, 2013
The title, "How I Live Now," suggests a certain distance, and that's rigorously maintained in the movie.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 7, 2013
This near-end-of-the-world movie for teenagers, set mostly in the English countryside, is too vague and shaky for its own good, but it generates a haunting ambiance and develops a cumulative power.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
November 7, 2013
As Macdonald deftly presents a subjective viewpoint, Ronan endows her overly schematic character with authentic desire, resentment and willfulness.
November 7, 2013
It's breathtaking how many tones and themes are skillfully juggled in "How I Live Now."
November 7, 2013
I'm not sure whom this movie's for, really.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 7, 2013
A frosty-eyed, imperturbable actress in "Atonement," "Hanna" and "The Host," Ronan is at least able to sell Daisy's new focus while the movie loses its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
November 7, 2013
Death creeps into the movie, like an invisible wave of radiation from a detonated nuke, and some of the imagery owes more to Cormac McCarthy than to Stephenie Meyer.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 7, 2013
The key objective here is not political coherence but a heavy sense of adult oppression and doom to make the heroes' innocent cuddling more poignant.
November 6, 2013
In a movie without adults, the children are spontaneous and natural. And Ms. Ronan is captivating throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 6, 2013
No matter how cheesy the romance (and, yes, it does get distractingly cheesy in parts), Daisy's vision as Edmond as the key to her salvation makes "How I Live Now" not so much a form of escapism as an ode to its powers.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 5, 2013
Wearing its YA credentials with a darkly romantic flourish, this uneven adaptation of Meg Rosoff's apocalyptic 2004 novel gets serious in a hurry, much like its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 5, 2013
The film is a fine one, moving and surprising and scraped of most of the love-me! fantasy that typifies formulaic YA.
October 1, 2013
There's not really enough here to get teenage girls totes emosh. Not enough to sigh and swoon over.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 14, 2013
Weird, weird, weird.
September 14, 2013
Held together by a forceful performance from Saoirse Ronan, director Kevin Macdonald's adaptation of Meg Rosoff's novel makes up in emotional immediacy what it lacks in broad dramatic sweep.
September 11, 2013
Proof there can still be boring stories during extraordinary times.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0
September 11, 2013
Ronan is almost always worth watching, but not especially in this drippy outing, in which she morphs from sullen teen brat to can-do wilderness heroine under the influence of an attractive red-headed hawk trainer.