Hubble 3D - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Hubble 3D Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Aaron Hillis
Village Voice
March 16, 2010
If you want an eye-popping cosmic epic, rent Star Trek. If you want interactivity, take the kids to the planetarium.
Top Critic
Nicolas Rapold
Time Out
March 17, 2010
Audiences expecting a blissout of swirling galaxies will wonder why so much time is spent on astronauts sweating over screws and bolts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Joel Achenbach
Washington Post
March 19, 2010
The daring mission by astronauts to repair and upgrade the Hubble Space Telescope in May 2009 is the perfect subject for a brilliant, thrilling 3-D Imax movie. Such a movie, alas, has yet to be made.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Mark Feeney
Boston Globe
March 18, 2010
Leonardo DiCaprio, as narrator, sounds very nearly reverent, and not without reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4

National Post
March 19, 2010
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Neil Miller
Film School Rejects
March 16, 2010
It's a short film, but a fascinating one that contains breathtaking imagery. It's as simple as that.
Don Groves
sbs.com.au
January 3, 2011
Awesome spectacle in outer space; pity about Leo's narration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Post
January 26, 2011
This is so jaw-dropping in terms of both content and quality that you won't want to miss a single second by blinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 22, 2010
A movie like this can get you thinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
March 26, 2010
I've been to two launches, Apollo 11 and Apollo 12, and Hubble 3D is the first film I've seen -- and felt -- that does more than hint at the skeleton-rattling power of those stupendous rockets.
March 18, 2010
What does it say about me that when I see a state of the art 45-minute propaganda piece for NASA, I come away convinced I've had a deeply personal philosophical experience?
| Original Score: A
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
March 16, 2010
Not only deposits you in outer space, but for the first time ever makes the old Star Trek gimmick of "warp speed" a reality.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 23, 2010
What sent me over the boohooing edge was an overpoweringly beautiful shot of the astronauts at work with Hawaii 325 miles behind them, shimmering in the blue, blue Pacific.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
August 6, 2010
Star gazing with Leonardo DiCaprio is an awesome out of this world experience. On the giant Imax screen in breathtaking 3D, this is probably the closest you or I will ever come to space travel
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
August 6, 2010
After becoming blasť about CGI effects in movies that pretend to take us into other galaxies far far away, we know this is for real
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
March 20, 2010
Hubble is a wonderful machine, and this is a phenomenal movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
April 30, 2010
... a truly amazing trip ...
| Original Score: 4/5
Jennifer Merin
About.com
March 20, 2010
Follows seven astronauts on a mission to repair Hubble telescope, and if you don't find the ride absolutely thrilling, you lack imagination!
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
S. Jhoanna Robledo
Common Sense Media
December 30, 2010
Space lands on Earth in 3-D glory in this kid-friendly docu.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Brandon Fibbs
BrandonFibbs.com
March 19, 2010
It is not hubris or hyperbole to say that Hubble 3D has to be seen to be believed. In its scant 43 minutes, the film reveals some of the most astonishing images your eyes will ever see. And every single one of them is real.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Elise Nakhnikian
House Next Door
April 22, 2011
Janet Smith
Georgia Straight
February 6, 2011
Page 1 of 2