The Human Centipede (First Sequence) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Human Centipede (First Sequence) Reviews

Page 2 of 166
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ July 30, 2016
An hour and 30 minutes of my life I will never get back, Sick, Gross and just wrong, Should not of been made it's pointless and stupid.
July 25, 2016
This movie isn't for everyone. It appeals to horror on many ways: a grotesque idea, a maniac and some dumb characters, but, also making references to reality and history, and making you feel uncomfortable every second. Maybe those are the reasons to say that it is a bad movie, but it accomplishes what horror is with no fear of critics and puritans.
½ July 14, 2016
It is so bad and boring. The main characters(?) were so stupid. In fact it was the most scary with this movie. HOW dumb someone can be. Very Very boring. The idea of the movie wasn't bad, i'll at least give them that- but seriously, i had a urge to write a review after seeing this movie. A review of how bad it was, but ey, if you gory torture porn this may be for you. No offense for those who liked it. Good for you.
June 28, 2016
The worst horror film of all time.
½ June 27, 2016
Adding a great,gross,thrilling plot and nastily grisly scenes The Human Centipede was enjoyable when my friend asked me if i wanted to see it i agreed to and i liked the film because as gross as it may be it was enjoyable but what was really good were the looks of terror of these people once they knew their faiths and waking up just to know they were the mascot of a insane doctor who won't let them go.
June 13, 2016
Border Line disgusting and just weird.
June 8, 2016
...speechless just wow. Extraordinary movie , I can't even begin to decide the amount of effort contributed into this film. The production ... Great the acting beautiful. I really like how this fan fiction really came to be. In conclusion this movie is fucking stupid.
June 2, 2016
Quite shocking but well done even though the subject may be over-the-top.
May 2, 2016
_REWATCH REVIEW_
The Human Centipede is a movie that gets hated very oftenly online. Everybody thinks it's not a good movie due to the fact that it has a truly sick plot, but I cannot say that it's a bad movie just because it's sick. Just like A Serbian Film, this movie is sickly great. The story follows two best friends who, after getting a flat tire in the middle of the woods, find a house where doctor Heiter lives and does his... Experiments. Just when they thought that they were going to be saved, it all goes south when the doctor drugs them and starts preparing them for his "human centipede" experiment. The story does have quite a lot of cliches in it, mostly in the beginning, but as the movie goes on, you start to realise how different this movie actually is. The characters consist of a very sick, but clever, doctor Heiter who doesn't care at all for human beings and just wants to make his own creature, two best friends who aren't really developed really well and they also don't get much dialogue due to the fact that half of the movie they're in the centipede, and a Japanese man who's the head of the centipede and he's actually quite well thought of, I really loved his monologue at the end. The acting was decent, the girls I didn't find very convincing at the beginning, but as soon as the 'preparations' started, it's like they suddenly got talent for acting (maybe the fact that they didn't talk helped me in liking their acting, anyways, I liked their performance better in the second half). Dieter Laser as the horrifying doctor Heiter was the best part of the movie. He is haunting! His acting doesn't even look like acting at some points and he really seemed like a true psychopath by the end of the movie. Very believable performance. The Japanese man was also good. Again, I really liked his character and the ending monologue. The effects were great and the surgery and consquences were terrifying! It made me feel very uneasy and whenever succeeds in doing that, it has to be good. The ending of the movie is very depressing and tragic. The way things are left is eerie and just makes you think of what happened next. It was very well executed. All in all, The Human Centipede is a great horror movie that succeeds in shocking the viewer while also delivering a haunting and tragic story with a very interesting main villain and even though some of the characters make some stupid decision and the acting isn't always good, I would highly recommend checking this movie out to all horror fans.
½ April 26, 2016
Two very well done scenes of suspense but there are too many plot holes and inconsistencies to ignore.
½ April 10, 2016
This was strange......total understatement.
Thing is that horror films these days are cliché, same story, same gags, same sequence, it's not even shocking anymore
This, however was shocking. which earns it it's two and a half stars. otherwise it was just disgusting
½ March 26, 2016
This movie was a waste of my time. No scary at all, and no suspense. There is also no sound effects to build up tension. When the surgeon finally confronts the detectives, there were no good fights, they died not becuuse how good hte villain was, but how bad the heros are. And of course, everyone had horrific acting skills!
March 22, 2016
A silly and creative bit of schlock that managed to become a cultural meme, thus working its way to people who would never appreciate it in any way. It's not to be taken seriously. In fact, it's quite hilarious at times. Worth a watch for serious horror fans, but not really for anyone else.
½ March 20, 2016
Complete, yet surprisingly self-assured, garbage. If you're not turned off by the disgustingly bankrupt premise, you'll definitely wonder how the movie could be so boring despite it. Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen, and definitely the best way you can kiss your free time good-bye. Heck, I wouldn't have finished it if I didn't have a bro to help!
½ March 15, 2016
worse movie I've ever seen
½ February 22, 2016
Filme horrivel, nojento, sem mais...
½ February 5, 2016
Well...this happened.
January 17, 2016
Watching The Human Centipede I continually kept finding the same question cropping up, that question wasn't why am I watching this, it was what is the point behind all of this? The hilariously named Tom Six, crafts a horror, which he claims is influence by Pasolini and other film makers of that era and ilk, the problem is that unlike a director who can take gratuitous violence and use it in an ingenious way to portray the horror of a smart subject matter, Six takes the route of glorified sadist, with a film that has no reason, no message and makes no sense what so ever. When American friends Lindsay and Jenny brake down in the German wilderness, they happen to stumble upon an insane retired surgeon, who drugs them and decides to use the girls as part of a project to connect 3 people together, ass to mouth, in order to create a centipede. There you go folks, that's your film, that is the story, nothing else, there is no higher meaning, no subtext, no meat on this bone. The script is hilariously shallow, with horrendous dialogue, made worse by subtitles, but then again what were you expecting from a man who comes up with a story quite like this? What pains the most here is the fact that not only does the film look pretty impressive visually at times, not only is the lead character actually outstanding, not only does Six craft occasional moments of tension, the biggest criminal of all rests in the fact that The Human Centipede is neither scary nor the most revolting film that exists. The only thing that Six wants to strive for and he cant manage it, leaving causal viewers disgusted but anyone who actually witnessed say Salo: 120 Day Of Sodom, slightly bored by proceedings. Centipede doesnt offend on moral terms, more on outright stupidity and its existence based solely to shock. There are occasional flurries of something sound here, however their inclusion only pains knowing that if Six could get away from being an idiot, he might actually be able to craft an acceptable horror film. It's by no means the most vile or disturbing film you will ever watch, its by no means good and it really has little to offer, which is a shame because Dieter Laser's performance and the cinematography are what horror films were made for.
½ January 13, 2016
If you can get around the rather sick premise to the movie, it's actually fairly well made.
January 2, 2016
Para bien o para mal, "The Human Centipede" dejará su huella indeleble en la historia del cine de terror. El director holandés Tom Six confeccionó una película clase B sucia y depravada en la que un científico loco (interpretado de manera memorable por Dieter Laser) secuestra a 3 jóvenes para armar quirúrgicamente un cienpiés humano uniendo bocas con anos. Si usted no tiene el estómago, no la vea. Pero si usted está en busca de una emoción cinematográfica fuerte, esta es su película.
Page 2 of 166