Human Flow Reviews

June 4, 2020
[The refugees'] situation is extreme, the risks dire, and they're real people. Was it obscene to parade them for my consumption, or was my irritation at his constantly inserting himself into the frame like Hitchcock beside the point?
April 12, 2018
Ai Weiwei films himself amidst scenes of catastrophe in a gesture that limits the profundity of the geopolitical investigation of the documentary. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 10, 2018
Despite the enormous work of the documentation and the production, there's an obvious imbalance in Human Flow, the documentary equivalent of preaching to the choir... [Full Review in Spanish]
March 18, 2018
The problem with Ai Weiwei's turgid film is that rather than make a convincing documentary that explores an issue, he's sculpted a piece of artsy agit-prop with stark cinematography, endless shots of dour-looking displaced people and a simplistic agenda.
March 16, 2018
What he shows us is tragic and horrifying, but he offers no possible solutions and nothing much in the way of analysis.
February 20, 2018
Human Flow is just an indulgent art work that will get a limited cinema release.
December 21, 2017
... Human Flow, despite its efforts and comprehensiveness, is at best a sketch...
October 31, 2017
Ai's film becomes more digressive than discursive. Rather than contending with the information saturation around the crisis, Human Flow falls prey to it. Footage is layered without clear logic, poetic or narrative.
October 26, 2017
We never remain long enough with any one person to get more than a cursory idea of their story, and so over the course of the film's 140 minute runtime, we end up with a sense of the crisis as a tragedy, yes, but a choral, abstract one.
October 13, 2017
But Ai has failed in the most important mission of an artist: to make us question the world we live in. What Human Flow doesn't do is make us ask why we have a world that has produced so many refugees in the first place.
August 31, 2017
There's nothing especially distinctive about the package, nothing to tell you this is the work of the most recognizable living artist of the moment.