The Hurt Locker - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Hurt Locker Reviews

Page 1 of 14
March 1, 2018
One of the best films of 2009. [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 1, 2018
...possibly one of the best war films, despite its low budget and its apparently limited significant range, centered on the role of the hero and the sense of heroism, in the context of the American occupation of Iraq. [Full review in Spanish]
March 1, 2018
The Hurt Locker thus enters the select group of war films that address in a masterly way the eternal question "why should man fight for reasons he does not know?" [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 1, 2018
... a modern classic. [Full review in Spanish]
February 28, 2018
In some ways, The Hurt Locker defies the conventional narrative pattern of cinema. Bigelow's work must be seen as a power-packed punch that lands right on your face.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2018
Satisfying from the first frame to the last, The Hurt Locker ranks among the most accomplished contemporary war films.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 27, 2018
Depicting that toll fairly, and soldiers as flawed people with doubts and fears as well as triumphs, deepens our understanding of war. Still, Hurt Locker probably won't change anyone's interpretation of current events.
February 27, 2018
In spite of the lack of historical perspective, Kathryn Bigelow's The Hurt Locker manages to be a completely engrossing war film.
February 27, 2018
This may not represent the absolute reality of conflict in Iraq, but Bigelow has fashioned a gut-wrenching, gripping piece of suspense cinema that seeks to grab you by the neck.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 27, 2018
Although more a film about the Iraq war, it's a film about any war, about the tensions and panics experienced by human beings in a warlike conflict. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 26, 2018
Based on the experiences of the journalist Mark Boal, who lived with a patrol similar to the one that's featured in The Hurt Locker, the film finds a perfect channel in its episodic structure... [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 26, 2018
Bigelow masterfully narrates the work of these professionals who face death every day, several times a day; and concentrates on the minimal and essential details of life on the front. [Full review in Spanish]
February 3, 2018
This may be the same sun-bleached Iraq of dusty dirt streets and open deserts we've seen in other Iraq war films, but it's a different kind of movie. Director Kathryn Bigelow's handheld camerawork roams like a spotter's eyes...
January 17, 2018
The Hurt Locker is without a doubt one of the best war pictures I have ever seen, and I have seen most of them.
September 11, 2017
I probably should have seen this movie when I had the chance in theaters, but as a DVD it didn't live up to the hype, though it was well done.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 22, 2017
As a war movie the film. . .is content to ply the old standbys, such as the men in the trenches who understand the reality of the war, the effete desk-bound commanders who offer useless advice, and the civilians who exist merely as cannon fodder.
February 23, 2016
We may not like Staff Sgt. James all that much, but those of us who get our adrenaline fixes at the movies can recognize a bit of ourselves in him.
February 16, 2016
More than anything, The Hurt Locker is a high-wire study of men at work, its lack of overt politics replaced by a revelatory central performance.
February 25, 2015
One of the best-made films of 2009.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 14