I Am - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 3, 2015
The only revelation here is that a terrible filmmaker is a terrible filmmaker, regardless of genre or subject matter.
January 27, 2012
a well-meaning metaphysical inquiry that hits all the right sentiments but manages precious little substance
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 13, 2011
Whatever leaps of logic yawn in the film's poorly cobbled-together arguments are papered over by its wash of button-pushing images, from regimented soldiers and deadly explosions to flocks of wild geese and sunbeams breaking through the clouds.
June 10, 2011
Unfortunately, while Shadyac the person may have gone through a life-altering transformation, Shadyac the director hasn't improved much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 1, 2011
It's admirably optimistic -- and it's hard to argue with free hugs -- but the world is a whole lot more complex than Shadyac seems to realize.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 16, 2011
The feature-film equivalent of one of those 'Coexist' bumper stickers -- you know, the ones where the 'X' is a Star of David, the 'O' is a peace sign, and so on.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 15, 2011
a sweet movie, but an extremely slight one that seems not to notice the banality of its no doubt profoundly felt, anti-materialist worldview ...
Full Review | Original Score: 85/100
May 7, 2011
What "I Am" is wanting is a sense that it actually wrestles with anything, that it can stand up to a contrary point of view that the film's 76 minutes are so utterly lacking.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 6, 2011
Looking for proof that humans are hard-wired for compassion and altruism? Look no further.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 5, 2011
Despite some beautiful travel photography from cameraman Roko Belic and swift editing by Jennifer Abbott, "I Am" remains a personal diary that leaves the casual moviegoer out of the experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 1, 2011
I believe Shadyac had a meaningful epiphany. I'm not sure it's that meaningful for the rest of us.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2011
I Am is looking for a little bit of hope in this world. Happily, it finds some. A great deal actually.
April 29, 2011
An open heart can be a recipe for ridicule, particularly in a culture where consumption is mistaken for a moral imperative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 28, 2011
Happily, the frisky Shadyac does not sermonize. He is a puckish Sherpa to the frontiers of science and faith.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 27, 2011
The truth is that Shadyac's dumb comedies have probably done a lot more to bring happiness to humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 22, 2011
It's hard to decide what rankles most: what an astonishing monument to Shadyac's self-absorption I Am is, or how flat-out bad -- incompetent, even -- the filmmaking is.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
April 22, 2011
A well-intentioned documentary that is just too unfocused, scattered, and philosophically thin to matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 22, 2011
"I Am" will probably remind you of a Michael Moore movie and of the fluff-ball documentary "What the Bleep," but it's better than that makes it sound.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 21, 2011
I'm not an ideal viewer for a documentary like "I Am," which involves the ingestion of Woo Woo in industrial bulk. When I see a man whose mind is being read by yogurt, I expect to find that man in a comedy starring, oh, someone like Jim Carrey.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 21, 2011
A documentary spin through philosophy, philanthropy and quantum physics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3