I Am David - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am David Reviews

Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
Top Critic

AV Club
September 26, 2005
Top Critic

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
March 6, 2005
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
December 8, 2004
Clearly, huge tankers of disbelief must be suspended in a sea of goodwill to get into the spirit of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
December 3, 2004
The film is marred by too many coincidences, but there are a couple of twists at the end that tug at the heartstrings and leave you with a warm feeling.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
December 3, 2004
It's not lack of a strong story that keeps I Am David from taking off. Blame a straightforward approach that makes the movie feel too much like an after-school special.
| Original Score: C+
Top Critic
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
December 3, 2004
Feig's neorealist approach to the look of the film might work better if he didn't fill it with so many coincidences and melodramatic flourishes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 3, 2004
I know, I know, I'm supposed to get sentimental about this heart-warming tale. But I couldn't believe a moment of it, and never identified with little David.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
December 2, 2004
Manipulative though it is, it doesn't generate much real emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Nancy Churnin
Dallas Morning News
December 2, 2004
Leaves you with the lingering scent of truth.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Robert K. Elder
Chicago Tribune
December 2, 2004
Falls prey to the defect of all poor road movies: In gluing together unbelievable but convenient episodes with sugary sentimentality, it loses most of its credibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Robert Koehler
Variety
December 2, 2004
An unusually intelligent adventure film scaled for younger viewers, which never leaves adults behind.
Top Critic
Joe Mader
Hollywood Reporter
November 19, 2003
Essentially a tearjerker, with little originality or insight.