I Am David - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am David Reviews

December 8, 2004
Clearly, huge tankers of disbelief must be suspended in a sea of goodwill to get into the spirit of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 3, 2004
The film is marred by too many coincidences, but there are a couple of twists at the end that tug at the heartstrings and leave you with a warm feeling.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 3, 2004
It's not lack of a strong story that keeps I Am David from taking off. Blame a straightforward approach that makes the movie feel too much like an after-school special.
Read More | Original Score: C+
December 3, 2004
Feig's neorealist approach to the look of the film might work better if he didn't fill it with so many coincidences and melodramatic flourishes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 3, 2004
I know, I know, I'm supposed to get sentimental about this heart-warming tale. But I couldn't believe a moment of it, and never identified with little David.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 2, 2004
Manipulative though it is, it doesn't generate much real emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 2, 2004
Leaves you with the lingering scent of truth.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 2, 2004
Falls prey to the defect of all poor road movies: In gluing together unbelievable but convenient episodes with sugary sentimentality, it loses most of its credibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 2, 2004
An unusually intelligent adventure film scaled for younger viewers, which never leaves adults behind.
November 19, 2003
Essentially a tearjerker, with little originality or insight.