I Am Legend - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Legend Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
December 13, 2007
This can't-miss concept, in development for decades, was done first and done better in 28 Days Later.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
December 14, 2007
The herky-jerky script, by Mark Protosevich and Akiva Goldsman, favors vignettes and set pieces over dramatic development, and those damned zombies are everywhere, overwhelming the proceedings with their slobbering and howling.
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
December 13, 2007
I wouldn't want to watch I Am Legend again even if it were the last movie on Earth.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Inevitably, ideas give way to special-effects
Scott Weinberg
FEARnet
December 16, 2007
Before the diseased-yet-oddly superhuman villains start to appear en masse, I Am Legend works surprisingly well. Then they do.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
December 3, 2007
Combining the poor choice of Will Smith in the lead with some of the worst CG work since Van Helsing, this dog makes the recent The Invasion come across like a masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
December 17, 2007
Lawrence's film is probably the most fun audiences will likely have during this holiday season. But it's also the emptiest and most calculated of efforts...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
December 12, 2007
Unwise use of CGI is eventually no more debilitating a defect than I Am Legend's wayward third act, which begins with Neville cornily reciting lines from Shrek.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
August 27, 2008
Will Smith shows some promise trying to find a cure for a horrific virus, but somehow the plot becomes Shrek, Bob Marley and God trying to save the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Bob Mondello
NPR.org
October 18, 2008
When they do, banging their heads against plate glass as movie zombies always do, I started needing something else to think about.
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
December 14, 2007
Each successive development in the increasingly ludicrous narrative saps a little more of the goodwill engendered by the early scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Tricia Olszewski
Washington City Paper
February 29, 2008
If a horror movie is of true holy-bejesus caliber, you should be exhaling with relief at the end instead of thinking, 'Gee, that went fast!'
Brian Orndorf
eFilmCritic.com
December 16, 2007
There's greatness inside I Am Legend, however it's too much work to act enthused about a film that runs out of gas halfway through.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Beth Accomando
KPBS.org
December 15, 2007
This new version of I am Legend completely perverts the meaning of the title, losing the clever, dark irony and turning it instead into something heroic rather than something tragic.
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
December 9, 2007
Even A Boy and His Dog (1974) carried a stronger punch [than this] visually transformative but thematically weak movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
December 12, 2007
I Am Legend turns from a quiet meditation on the nature of humanity into a B-movie schlockfest.
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
December 14, 2007
[Smith's] powerful performance is not enough to save the movie -- initially a potent meditation on loneliness and an absorbing doomsday action movie -- from taking a wrong turn and never getting back on track.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Felix Gonzalez Jr.
DVD Review
January 27, 2009
There are some good points, but there are too many ineffectual aspects that keep I Am Legend from being the sophisticated film it was clearly meant to be.
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
December 14, 2007
Even as an incredibly expensive hunk of eye candy, the film comes up surprisingly short.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Rob Humanick
House Next Door
January 3, 2008
A film capable of more, settling for less.
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
March 3, 2012
Page 1 of 11