I Am Love - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Love Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
July 7, 2010
The more heightened the emotions become, the more the movie feels like a magazine spread rather than an involving story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Don Groves
sbs.com.au
December 24, 2010
Tilda Swinton shines in overcooked melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum
July 10, 2010
Daytime television serials such as "The Young and the Restless" and "Days of Our Lives" are more adept at telling an attention-grabbing story with interesting subplots and complex characters that you can either love or..
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Robbie Collin
News of the World
April 8, 2010
I am bored.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nicolas Rapold
Film Comment Magazine
June 28, 2013
The predictable end, which comes with an abruptness that feels altogether too constructed, completes the fantasy of transgression that's at the heart of the movie's appeal, however elaborate the trappings.
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
June 17, 2010
So thoroughly indulging in baroque aesthetic gestures (especially with regards to the intrusive, overcooked score) that the film becomes a flamboyant caricature of itself.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Mark Demetrius
FILMINK (Australia)
June 26, 2010
Despite an elegant and impressive visual style, the narrative of this slow-paced film is uninteresting and full of cliché.
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
July 6, 2010
Ponderous from beginning to end.
Brian Orndorf
BrianOrndorf.com
April 15, 2010
Exquisite parts of locations, set decoration, costumes, and editorial gymnastics, but to absorb it all in one single sit requires a heroic, possibly superhuman patience that I'm not convinced Guadagnino has earned.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
June 18, 2010
The splendid photography and tempestuous John Adams score cannot quite conceal that the film is uncomfortably close to being an extravagantly elongated, Fendi-clad episode of Dynasty.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kent Turner
Film-Forward.com
March 30, 2010
Luca Guadagnino's lopsided film plods along in the first hour then plows through the climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
June 23, 2010
I got into a bit of an intellectual tussle last night with a fellow critic who was absolutely stunned to hear me insist that damn straight, I certainly could condemn a movie for its morals.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
June 16, 2010
The film is almost deliriously stylish, which helps mask the silliness. But the bellowing music, by John Adams, is infuriatingly intrusive -- which undoes the visual good.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 24, 2010
The characters seem reasonably interesting, and so we continue to watch them. But at no point do we care about them any more than we might care about attractive strangers sitting at another table in a restaurant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
July 8, 2010
The overripe ending, heated by the percolating music of John Adams, is heavy seasoning on a delicate dish.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
March 19, 2011
...a frustratingly uneven bit of over-the-top filmmaking...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jeffrey Chen
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
February 1, 2011
For me the obvious attempts at enhancing lushness, rapture, and emotional swings were not connecting. I couldn't help noticing it was trying too hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Rob Thomas
Wisconsin State Journal
August 26, 2010
You get the feeling Guadagnino wanted to send the same thrill up the spine of jaded modern moviegoers that audiences got at the movies a half-century ago, and in this "I Am Love" succeeds wildly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 15, 2010
This lavish Italian melodrama has had festival crowds and critics cooing, but it's hard to see what all the fuss is about beyond the luscious visuals and American composer John Adams's off-kilter score.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Armond White
New York Press
June 16, 2010
Swinton always attempts bold milestones, but I Am Love makes one long to go back to the old landmarks.
Page 1 of 7