I Am Mother Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 3, 2020
What's impressive about I Am Mother is that it starts out with a rock-solid concept for a thought-provoking film and then keeps on adding to it. This is the rare science fiction film that gives the audience maybe a little too much to think about.
February 21, 2020
Australian filmmaker Grant Sputore's direction keeps viewers on their toes, and we never quite know who to trust.
January 8, 2020
This is where I Am Mother distinguishes itself - bypassing doomsday to what happens in the aftermath, and how we come back.
December 11, 2019
Anchored by a fantastically assured Clara Rugaard, I Am Mother is a speculative springboard for rich discussions about prosthetic nurturing and the moral cost of engineering the greater good.
August 17, 2019
I Am Mother has a simple narrative but one that is executed with skill and flair. The cinematography, lighting, sound work and acting all come together to deliver a satisfying movie.
July 2, 2019
A pretty good start that feels rushed at the end and ultimately damages a promising movie. [Full review in Spanish].
June 27, 2019
I Am Mother exudes visual sophistication-specifically with its production design, which is intriguing and well suited.
June 27, 2019
It's not a wildly imaginative film, but like a lot of Netflix fare, it's a serviceable, well-acted, entertaining and at times intriguing film.
June 21, 2019
The joy of director Grant Sputore's debut lies less in the actual plot than in the breakout performance by Clara Rugaard, the affecting work of Hilary Swank, and the ideas the film plants in the mind of the viewer for further examination.
June 20, 2019
It's an exciting film to watch, but an even better one to think about after - preferably in the company of a real, physically present person.
June 20, 2019
It's rich material, handled brilliantly by first-time feature director Grant Sputore, a West Australian, working from an intelligently wrought screenplay from American Michael Lloyd-Green.
June 20, 2019
An intriguing premise, fine performances and a string of startling reveals that just keeps on coming make this Australian sci-fi film a real winner -- and a must-watch for the Black Mirror set.
June 17, 2019
Writer-director Grant Sputore does a nice job of ramping up the tension and leaving the viewer guessing as to the eventual outcome.
June 17, 2019
I Am Mother offers some interesting social commentary on the idea of motherhood but stops just short of making its point.
June 15, 2019
It's exciting to live in these kinds of thought experiments, and then think through it all as the credits roll.
June 14, 2019
Like any good what-if story, I Am Mother is uncomfortably close to asking "What now?"
June 14, 2019
A smart, low-budget science fiction head-scratcher that doesn't exactly jump out and thrill you, but offers interesting twists beneath its stillness.
June 14, 2019
Frustrating but engrossing, and impossible to critique in-depth without spoilers because it's driven by regular plot twists.
June 14, 2019
Rugaard, a Danish-Irish 21-year-old, feels like a major discovery - she's the not-so-secret motor of I Am Mother, a dynamic presence that lends blood, guts and soul to this dystopic vision.
June 12, 2019
Here the story is better and the fungible sets are about par. There are some ideas but not enough to make the trip fully worthwhile.
Page 1 of 4