I Am Not Your Negro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Not Your Negro Reviews

Page 1 of 10
August 24, 2018
Raoul Peck's work is so good and Baldwin's words are so gallingly true and fiery it made me weak at the knees; it's one of my favourite films in months.
August 23, 2018
I thought it wasn't "for" me. I thought I didn't need to be exposed to whatever I presumed it had to say. I was very wrong. This was a very profound experience, artistically and culturally.
August 21, 2018
Using Baldwin's words as a springboard to connect past traumas with present injustices, this dense essay film has so many prophetic ideas swirling around it's hard not to feel a little dizzy.
June 14, 2018
Equal parts a maelstrom of black rage and a sleek, surgical assessment of the American Dream as it pertains to race.
April 3, 2018
From slavery to Hollywood, from an equivocating Bobby Kennedy to the chances of a black man becoming president, from the dumbing down of television to consumer culture, Baldwin is on blistering, take no prisoners, form.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 24, 2018
Director Peck ... , in meticulous detail, walks us through his subject's life from childhood precocity to adult eloquence.
February 13, 2018
... an epic work... [Full review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 9, 2018
An ingeniously constructed documentary about one of the 20th century's greatest, and more conflicted, artist/polemicists.
January 17, 2018
[This] montage of America's explosive history of racial intolerance makes for compelling, if at times uncomfortable viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 16, 2018
It's an imaginative look not only at the intellectual powerhouse of writer James Baldwin, as seen on TV interviews and in speeches, but also his own words from an unpublished manuscripts...
January 8, 2018
An absorbing documentary... [Full review in Spanish]
December 28, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is an incisive meditation on America's Civil Rights Movement.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 28, 2017
While I Am Not Your Negro remains an astounding statement about race, a sequel that makes his queerness visible is sorely needed.
December 19, 2017
As sad and frustrating as I Am Not Your Negro is, it is also inspiring, energizing, and even hopeful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 19, 2017
Raoul Peck takes a unique approach to documenting the meditations of the late Harlem-born author James Baldwin, who lived as an expatriate in Paris for most of his adult life.
December 18, 2017
What transpires is a still-searing indictment of the systemic racism that underpins our civic, moral and cultural institutions. Baldwin's reflections and admonishments ring as true today as they did 50 years ago.
November 10, 2017
Gorgeous text spoken over gripping images, jamming the past into the present to clarify an impending reality that seems both baffling and inevitable, traumatically perplexing and terribly clear.
October 17, 2017
If I Am Not Your Negro lacks subtlety as an objet d'art, then, all I can say is America continues to live in hostile times.
September 27, 2017
While this is an intellectual film, and a very discomfiting one, it is a film that all should experience. It's an eye-opener, and it's brilliantly piercing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 22, 2017
This is a must-see movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 10