I Am Not Your Negro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Not Your Negro Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 22, 2017
This is a must-see movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 21, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is an important film, not just as a document of America's chequered racial history but also as a warning to the world about the fragility of cultural difference.
September 21, 2017
Poetic, inspiring, haunting, and absolutely necessary.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 21, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro emerges as a ferociously well-argued, blazingly intelligent, wondrously layered and utterly watchable piece of work.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 21, 2017
Incomplete and unpublished by the time of his death eight years later, the letters have been picked up by Haitian filmmaker Raoul Peck who brings Baldwin's typically insightful and beautifully articulated words to life...
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 20, 2017
There's still enough new insights and statements of power to make the film worth seeing, along with its unfortunate and disturbing timeliness of its historical images.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 14, 2017
A singularly original work, part portrait of Baldwin, part history of the racial struggle, part essay, part manifesto.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is an utterly brilliant film - bold, galvanising, even gripping...
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 13, 2017
... Baldwin's words - sometimes spoken by Samuel L. Jackson - guide us through the narrative, which marries archival footage of Baldwin in interviews and forums with film of his era's political and cultural milestones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 12, 2017
Director Raoul Peck picks up where the author left off, using the unfinished manuscript as a kind of blueprint for this incendiary, Oscar-nominated documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 12, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro curiously subverts our conception of history, perceptions of ourselves as a nation and attempts to address our unending dilemma. It tells its story best through Baldwin's own words rather than moving images.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 12, 2017
Raoul Peck's Oscar-nominated documentary, I Am Not Your Negro, takes one of Baldwin's unfinished manuscripts, Remember This House, and transforms it into an urgent exploration of US history.
September 3, 2017
"I Am Not Your Negro," is possibly one of the most revelatory, insightful and prescient visual documents on civil rights and race that has ever been committed to screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 29, 2017
. . .Baldwin's striking insights are as valid today as they were over three decades ago.
August 23, 2017
[Raoul] Peck's movie becomes a kind of blistering diary in which Baldwin assesses his responses to what he saw as a child and what he's rediscovering as an adult.
August 21, 2017
Not just anyone can hold your attention for two hours, which is perhaps why it does not matter how much the viewer does or does not know about James Baldwin.
August 17, 2017
At moments, the tone and subject matter become overwhelming and risk losing the viewer in scenes of shock and brutality, but perhaps this is the point. We want to look away and have looked away, but should no longer.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 31, 2017
A documentary that honors a magnificent testimony of racial history and class. [Full review in Spanish]
July 23, 2017
...one last tilt at the racial antagonism that is still the stain on the whole American project.
July 20, 2017
The angriest, most important lesson audiences will ever hear.
Page 1 of 9