I Am Not Your Negro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Not Your Negro Reviews

Page 1 of 10
May 15, 2017
The film shows an extreme, anti-traditionalist and anti-white position, to which the only real and true History of the United States is the black History. [Full review in Spanish]
October 31, 2016
Sorry, the dubious positive critical response, begs the question of Baldwin's intent to disturb and provoke, not placate guilt-free white privilege. And with the ironic effect of twisting the notion of The Other, as not me but 'those whites over there.'
February 3, 2017
Peck...reduces Baldwin's in-the-moment reflections and once-daring insights to the petulance of the Black Lives Matter crusade, which overturns the principles and virtues that King, Malcolm, and Medgar represented before their deaths.
August 24, 2018
Raoul Peck's work is so good and Baldwin's words are so gallingly true and fiery it made me weak at the knees; it's one of my favourite films in months.
August 23, 2018
I thought it wasn't "for" me. I thought I didn't need to be exposed to whatever I presumed it had to say. I was very wrong. This was a very profound experience, artistically and culturally.
June 14, 2018
Equal parts a maelstrom of black rage and a sleek, surgical assessment of the American Dream as it pertains to race.
February 24, 2018
Director Peck ... , in meticulous detail, walks us through his subject's life from childhood precocity to adult eloquence.
December 19, 2017
As sad and frustrating as I Am Not Your Negro is, it is also inspiring, energizing, and even hopeful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 19, 2017
Raoul Peck takes a unique approach to documenting the meditations of the late Harlem-born author James Baldwin, who lived as an expatriate in Paris for most of his adult life.
April 3, 2018
From slavery to Hollywood, from an equivocating Bobby Kennedy to the chances of a black man becoming president, from the dumbing down of television to consumer culture, Baldwin is on blistering, take no prisoners, form.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 10, 2017
Gorgeous text spoken over gripping images, jamming the past into the present to clarify an impending reality that seems both baffling and inevitable, traumatically perplexing and terribly clear.
September 21, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is an important film, not just as a document of America's chequered racial history but also as a warning to the world about the fragility of cultural difference.
September 27, 2017
While this is an intellectual film, and a very discomfiting one, it is a film that all should experience. It's an eye-opener, and it's brilliantly piercing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 12, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro curiously subverts our conception of history, perceptions of ourselves as a nation and attempts to address our unending dilemma. It tells its story best through Baldwin's own words rather than moving images.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 29, 2017
. . .Baldwin's striking insights are as valid today as they were over three decades ago.
August 21, 2017
Not just anyone can hold your attention for two hours, which is perhaps why it does not matter how much the viewer does or does not know about James Baldwin.
February 9, 2018
An ingeniously constructed documentary about one of the 20th century's greatest, and more conflicted, artist/polemicists.
August 17, 2017
At moments, the tone and subject matter become overwhelming and risk losing the viewer in scenes of shock and brutality, but perhaps this is the point. We want to look away and have looked away, but should no longer.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 19, 2017
There are many moments in Raoul Peck's astounding new film I Am Not Your Negro that come off the screen and imbed themselves in your chest.
June 26, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is a fitting tribute and introduction to James Baldwin - stylish, to-the-point, and full of truths as timely now as they were when Baldwin first put them into writing. It is not to be missed.
Page 1 of 10