I Am Not Your Negro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Not Your Negro Reviews

Page 1 of 9
May 15, 2017
The film shows an extreme, anti-traditionalist and anti-white position, to which the only real and true History of the United States is the black History. [Full review in Spanish]
October 31, 2016
Sorry, the dubious positive critical response, begs the question of Baldwin's intent to disturb and provoke, not placate guilt-free white privilege. And with the ironic effect of twisting the notion of The Other, as not me but 'those whites over there.'
February 3, 2017
Peck...reduces Baldwin's in-the-moment reflections and once-daring insights to the petulance of the Black Lives Matter crusade, which overturns the principles and virtues that King, Malcolm, and Medgar represented before their deaths.
November 10, 2017
Gorgeous text spoken over gripping images, jamming the past into the present to clarify an impending reality that seems both baffling and inevitable, traumatically perplexing and terribly clear.
September 21, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is an important film, not just as a document of America's chequered racial history but also as a warning to the world about the fragility of cultural difference.
September 27, 2017
While this is an intellectual film, and a very discomfiting one, it is a film that all should experience. It's an eye-opener, and it's brilliantly piercing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 12, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro curiously subverts our conception of history, perceptions of ourselves as a nation and attempts to address our unending dilemma. It tells its story best through Baldwin's own words rather than moving images.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 29, 2017
. . .Baldwin's striking insights are as valid today as they were over three decades ago.
August 21, 2017
Not just anyone can hold your attention for two hours, which is perhaps why it does not matter how much the viewer does or does not know about James Baldwin.
August 17, 2017
At moments, the tone and subject matter become overwhelming and risk losing the viewer in scenes of shock and brutality, but perhaps this is the point. We want to look away and have looked away, but should no longer.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 19, 2017
There are many moments in Raoul Peck's astounding new film I Am Not Your Negro that come off the screen and imbed themselves in your chest.
June 26, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is a fitting tribute and introduction to James Baldwin - stylish, to-the-point, and full of truths as timely now as they were when Baldwin first put them into writing. It is not to be missed.
June 21, 2017
Stirring, poetic, yet unsettling.
February 2, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro offers hard truths and a blueprint for reconfiguring our national consciousness, imploring us to take responsibility for this country and change it.
February 24, 2017
It's an astonishing, often challenging and sharp examination of race in the United States, confronting how the country's history repeats and how Baldwin insisted we must remember, relentlessly question, remain conscientious and resist.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 7, 2016
Just in case you need a reminder that racism is not dead, James Baldwin, the intellectual, civil rights activist and renowned author, has left behind some biting and enlightening words about the subject.
June 10, 2017
What is scary is how seamlessly the film transitions between the racially charged tragedies of today and the tragedies of the civil rights movement. It paints a picture that race relations have not changed in since the 1960s.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 23, 2017
An intricate and fascinating narrative.
March 22, 2017
We can always count on the words of one of our most important writers to illuminate our most profound concerns and be an eternal advocate, as this documentary so eloquently reminds us.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 31, 2017
A documentary that honors a magnificent testimony of racial history and class. [Full review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 9