I Am Not Your Negro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Not Your Negro Reviews

Page 1 of 8
May 15, 2017
The film shows an extreme, anti-traditionalist and anti-white position, to which the only real and true History of the United States is the black History. [Full review in Spanish]
October 31, 2016
Sorry, the dubious positive critical response, begs the question of Baldwin's intent to disturb and provoke, not placate guilt-free white privilege. And with the ironic effect of twisting the notion of The Other, as not me but 'those whites over there.'
February 3, 2017
Peck...reduces Baldwin's in-the-moment reflections and once-daring insights to the petulance of the Black Lives Matter crusade, which overturns the principles and virtues that King, Malcolm, and Medgar represented before their deaths.
July 19, 2017
There are many moments in Raoul Peck's astounding new film I Am Not Your Negro that come off the screen and imbed themselves in your chest.
June 26, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is a fitting tribute and introduction to James Baldwin - stylish, to-the-point, and full of truths as timely now as they were when Baldwin first put them into writing. It is not to be missed.
June 21, 2017
Stirring, poetic, yet unsettling.
February 2, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro offers hard truths and a blueprint for reconfiguring our national consciousness, imploring us to take responsibility for this country and change it.
February 24, 2017
It's an astonishing, often challenging and sharp examination of race in the United States, confronting how the country's history repeats and how Baldwin insisted we must remember, relentlessly question, remain conscientious and resist.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 7, 2016
Just in case you need a reminder that racism is not dead, James Baldwin, the intellectual, civil rights activist and renowned author, has left behind some biting and enlightening words about the subject.
June 10, 2017
What is scary is how seamlessly the film transitions between the racially charged tragedies of today and the tragedies of the civil rights movement. It paints a picture that race relations have not changed in since the 1960s.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 23, 2017
An intricate and fascinating narrative.
March 22, 2017
We can always count on the words of one of our most important writers to illuminate our most profound concerns and be an eternal advocate, as this documentary so eloquently reminds us.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 31, 2017
A documentary that honors a magnificent testimony of racial history and class. [Full review in Spanish]
February 3, 2017
Its thesis is tired and worn. But this is not the fault of the film, just of a country that refuses to truly bear witness.
February 9, 2017
Peck's masterful presentation of Baldwin's ideas lets the audience "see" America through his eyes, making his case intellectually and emotionally.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 8, 2017
It's unlikely to find an audience with anyone who uses the phrase "all lives matter" sincerely or thinks that "social justice warrior" is an insult. More's the pity, but it's their loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 1, 2017
A bold and copious cinematic bricolage that captures Baldwin as both witness and participant amid the turbulence of the Civil Rights Movement.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 6, 2017
There are many feelings to be felt watching this film, but what they are will very much depend on who you are.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 8, 2017
An indispensable documentary to understand the history of the United States. [Full review in Spanish]
April 3, 2017
Peck's film may have been an Oscars bridesmaid but it turns Baldwin's prescient words into a staggering achievement. It's an exhilarating blast of focused fury.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 8