I Am Not Your Negro - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Not Your Negro Reviews

Page 1 of 7
October 31, 2016
Sorry, the dubious positive critical response, begs the question of Baldwin's intent to disturb and provoke, not placate guilt-free white privilege. And with the ironic effect of twisting the notion of The Other, as not me but 'those whites over there.'
February 3, 2017
Peck...reduces Baldwin's in-the-moment reflections and once-daring insights to the petulance of the Black Lives Matter crusade, which overturns the principles and virtues that King, Malcolm, and Medgar represented before their deaths.
February 2, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro offers hard truths and a blueprint for reconfiguring our national consciousness, imploring us to take responsibility for this country and change it.
February 24, 2017
It's an astonishing, often challenging and sharp examination of race in the United States, confronting how the country's history repeats and how Baldwin insisted we must remember, relentlessly question, remain conscientious and resist.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 23, 2017
An intricate and fascinating narrative.
March 22, 2017
We can always count on the words of one of our most important writers to illuminate our most profound concerns and be an eternal advocate, as this documentary so eloquently reminds us.
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 3, 2017
Its thesis is tired and worn. But this is not the fault of the film, just of a country that refuses to truly bear witness.
February 9, 2017
Peck's masterful presentation of Baldwin's ideas lets the audience "see" America through his eyes, making his case intellectually and emotionally.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 8, 2017
It's unlikely to find an audience with anyone who uses the phrase "all lives matter" sincerely or thinks that "social justice warrior" is an insult. More's the pity, but it's their loss.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 1, 2017
A bold and copious cinematic bricolage that captures Baldwin as both witness and participant amid the turbulence of the Civil Rights Movement.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 6, 2017
There are many feelings to be felt watching this film, but what they are will very much depend on who you are.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 8, 2017
An indispensable documentary to understand the history of the United States. [Full review in Spanish]
April 3, 2017
Peck's film may have been an Oscars bridesmaid but it turns Baldwin's prescient words into a staggering achievement. It's an exhilarating blast of focused fury.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 4, 2016
The evidence here is more intrinsically spiritual than fact-based, and, in the process, Peck has made one of this year's finest documentaries.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 24, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is a rare and special film that evokes Baldwin's work at a pivotal time, for a generation that may have otherwise overlooked it.
February 9, 2017
I Am Not Your Negro is a thoughtful and provocative look back on the troubling story of race relations in this country
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 8, 2017
An invitation to learn about Baldwin's work, to understand where he came from and to find out who his heroes were. [Full review in Spanish]
February 3, 2017
Raoul Peck's I Am Not Your Negro is a superb invocation, a necessary new reading of a grand voice. It's a subtly drawn and impactful summation of James Baldwin's literary essence and social conscience, confidently packaged as a 90-minute essay...
Full Review | Original Score: A
February 28, 2017
Wielding language like a precise and delicate instrument, James Baldwin's words slice intricately through race, oppression and ignorance with clinical elegance.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 9, 2017
Baldwin's words, Jackson's reading and Peck's elegant and scorching composition will resonate for years to come.
Page 1 of 7