I Am Number Four - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Number Four Reviews

Top Critic
Sean O'Connell
Washington Post
February 24, 2011
The young "Four" cast appears to have been plucked from an Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue - which isn't an issue until you realize that the characters they're playing are about as thin as the pages in that Gen-Y fashion Bible.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Tom Huddleston
Time Out
February 23, 2011
The door is left wide open for a sequel, but it's hard to imagine there'll be much call for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
February 19, 2011
The sci-fi-teen romance I Am Number Four is witless, insultingly derivative, muddy-looking, and edited in the hammering epileptic style that marks so many films produced, as this one is, by Michael Bay.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
February 18, 2011
Granted, I Am NumberFour is a little better and makes loads more sense than Eagle Eye, Caruso's most recent vehicle for comely young actors in peril. But neither one has the sass and pluck of Disturbia. Watch that instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
February 18, 2011
Pettyfer - a child actor turned model turned self-satisfied hunk - isn't much except blond hair and good cheekbones as our hero.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Laremy Legel
Film.com
February 18, 2011
Perhaps February's recent history as a movie "dumping ground" has me feeling overly generous, but "I Am Number Four" was an enjoyable romp.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
February 18, 2011
I Am Number Four's CGI sequences are murky and dark, its performances negligible, its script genuinely inept. There is, I should note, a puppy, which arguably keeps the film this side of completely unbearable, but just barely.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
February 18, 2011
Say this for I Am Number Four: It's blessedly free of any original sins. Instead, they're all copied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
February 18, 2011
Strip away the uninspired mythology, and I Am Number Four is just your average high school movie with below-average drama.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
February 18, 2011
For all of its homicidal aliens and toothy beasts, "I Am Number Four" did contain one element that genuinely unsettled me: the line "produced by Michael Bay." Nooooooo!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
February 18, 2011
A Superman-come-lately tale of puppy love, extraordinary powers and puberty that's duller than a chalkboard and less powerful than an extraneous Jonas brother.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
February 18, 2011
"I Am Number Four" delivers none of the spectacle of a competent sci-fi film, none of the emotion of an effective teen romance and none of the giggles of a kitsch fiasco.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Scott Bowles
USA Today
February 17, 2011
A cookie-cutter action film that hopes to stand on the shoulders of Twilight and Spider-Man but plays like Spider-lite.
Top Critic
Mary F. Pols
TIME Magazine
February 17, 2011
The movie version of I Am Number Four is a blatant, cynical pitch for an unearned franchise, made by people who seem to think the words "bestseller" and "young adult" are enough to guarantee a Harry Potter-like box office payout. It's not.
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
February 17, 2011
"I Am Number Four," the appealing new kid-on-the-teen-angst block, reverberates with much of the same dark combustible mix of action and romance that's been fueling the "Twilight" vampire mega-franchise for a while now.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
February 17, 2011
Caruso aims for flashy fun and hits the target.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
February 17, 2011
Tapping into the same vein of teen melodrama that runs through the Twilight franchise, I Am Number Four hurls a moody adolescent from outer space into the halls of a smalltown American high school.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
February 17, 2011
Mostly "I Am Number Four'' is a pokey, pretty, predictable romance in which the boy is a shy extraterrestrial with secret powers and a royal lineage - your classic study-hall daydream - and the girl is a gentle alt-goddess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Gary Dowell
Dallas Morning News
February 17, 2011
A polished but unremarkable science-fiction adventure, I Am Number Four is the kind of movie you enjoy while it's in front of you but soon forget about.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
February 17, 2011
Really, everything in I Am Number Four is recognizable from many past films.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Glenn Kenny
MSN Movies
February 17, 2011
Honestly, the god-awful, no-budget, grade-Z 1959 potboiler Teenagers From Outer Space had more integrity than does this piece of militaristically oppressive, micromanaged tripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Tom Keogh
Seattle Times
February 17, 2011
"I Am Number Four" leaves plenty of room for sequels. Here's hoping.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
David Germain
Associated Press
February 17, 2011
The action tale I Am Number Four is mostly familiar stuff, presenting the latest teen outsider coming into possession of his latent superpowers just in time to battle evil forces intent on world chaos.
Top Critic
Andrea Gronvall
Chicago Reader
February 17, 2011
Producers Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg deploy an arsenal of noisy special effects to demonstrate the invaders' high-tech superiority, which makes Olyphant's inability to breach an Internet firewall look pretty silly.
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
February 17, 2011
"I Am Number Four" has more than a whiff of number two about it...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
February 17, 2011
It is atrociously bad, basically.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
February 17, 2011
What we have here is a witless attempt to merge the "Twilight" formula with the Michael Bay formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Nick Schager
Village Voice
February 16, 2011
Nothing but a million little pieces from prior superhero series and the Twilight saga.
Top Critic
Randy Cordova
Arizona Republic
February 16, 2011
"I Am Number Four" is like a good episode of "Smallville": You may feel a bit silly watching it if you're past high-school age, but you just might have a good time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Justin Chang
Variety
February 16, 2011
The pic's stumbling block is its inability to convince us we're watching someone extraordinary.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
February 16, 2011
A high-school movie with a sci-fi twist ultimately fumbles away a golden opportunity to give youth conflicts an added dimension.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
February 14, 2011
They're young, they're attractive and they glow neon blue when they're hunted. Which is often.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4