I Am Number Four - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Am Number Four Reviews

February 24, 2011
The young "Four" cast appears to have been plucked from an Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue - which isn't an issue until you realize that the characters they're playing are about as thin as the pages in that Gen-Y fashion Bible.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 23, 2011
The door is left wide open for a sequel, but it's hard to imagine there'll be much call for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 19, 2011
The sci-fi-teen romance I Am Number Four is witless, insultingly derivative, muddy-looking, and edited in the hammering epileptic style that marks so many films produced, as this one is, by Michael Bay.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
February 18, 2011
Granted, I Am NumberFour is a little better and makes loads more sense than Eagle Eye, Caruso's most recent vehicle for comely young actors in peril. But neither one has the sass and pluck of Disturbia. Watch that instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 18, 2011
Pettyfer - a child actor turned model turned self-satisfied hunk - isn't much except blond hair and good cheekbones as our hero.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 18, 2011
Perhaps February's recent history as a movie "dumping ground" has me feeling overly generous, but "I Am Number Four" was an enjoyable romp.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
February 18, 2011
I Am Number Four's CGI sequences are murky and dark, its performances negligible, its script genuinely inept. There is, I should note, a puppy, which arguably keeps the film this side of completely unbearable, but just barely.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
February 18, 2011
Say this for I Am Number Four: It's blessedly free of any original sins. Instead, they're all copied.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 18, 2011
Strip away the uninspired mythology, and I Am Number Four is just your average high school movie with below-average drama.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 18, 2011
For all of its homicidal aliens and toothy beasts, "I Am Number Four" did contain one element that genuinely unsettled me: the line "produced by Michael Bay." Nooooooo!
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 18, 2011
A Superman-come-lately tale of puppy love, extraordinary powers and puberty that's duller than a chalkboard and less powerful than an extraneous Jonas brother.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 18, 2011
"I Am Number Four" delivers none of the spectacle of a competent sci-fi film, none of the emotion of an effective teen romance and none of the giggles of a kitsch fiasco.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 17, 2011
A cookie-cutter action film that hopes to stand on the shoulders of Twilight and Spider-Man but plays like Spider-lite.
February 17, 2011
The movie version of I Am Number Four is a blatant, cynical pitch for an unearned franchise, made by people who seem to think the words "bestseller" and "young adult" are enough to guarantee a Harry Potter-like box office payout. It's not.
February 17, 2011
"I Am Number Four," the appealing new kid-on-the-teen-angst block, reverberates with much of the same dark combustible mix of action and romance that's been fueling the "Twilight" vampire mega-franchise for a while now.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 17, 2011
Caruso aims for flashy fun and hits the target.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2011
Tapping into the same vein of teen melodrama that runs through the Twilight franchise, I Am Number Four hurls a moody adolescent from outer space into the halls of a smalltown American high school.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 17, 2011
Mostly "I Am Number Four'' is a pokey, pretty, predictable romance in which the boy is a shy extraterrestrial with secret powers and a royal lineage - your classic study-hall daydream - and the girl is a gentle alt-goddess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 17, 2011
A polished but unremarkable science-fiction adventure, I Am Number Four is the kind of movie you enjoy while it's in front of you but soon forget about.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
February 17, 2011
Really, everything in I Am Number Four is recognizable from many past films.
Read More | Original Score: C-
February 17, 2011
Honestly, the god-awful, no-budget, grade-Z 1959 potboiler Teenagers From Outer Space had more integrity than does this piece of militaristically oppressive, micromanaged tripe.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 17, 2011
"I Am Number Four" leaves plenty of room for sequels. Here's hoping.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2011
The action tale I Am Number Four is mostly familiar stuff, presenting the latest teen outsider coming into possession of his latent superpowers just in time to battle evil forces intent on world chaos.
February 17, 2011
Producers Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg deploy an arsenal of noisy special effects to demonstrate the invaders' high-tech superiority, which makes Olyphant's inability to breach an Internet firewall look pretty silly.
February 17, 2011
"I Am Number Four" has more than a whiff of number two about it...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 17, 2011
It is atrociously bad, basically.
February 17, 2011
What we have here is a witless attempt to merge the "Twilight" formula with the Michael Bay formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 16, 2011
Nothing but a million little pieces from prior superhero series and the Twilight saga.
February 16, 2011
"I Am Number Four" is like a good episode of "Smallville": You may feel a bit silly watching it if you're past high-school age, but you just might have a good time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 16, 2011
The pic's stumbling block is its inability to convince us we're watching someone extraordinary.
February 16, 2011
A high-school movie with a sci-fi twist ultimately fumbles away a golden opportunity to give youth conflicts an added dimension.
February 14, 2011
They're young, they're attractive and they glow neon blue when they're hunted. Which is often.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4