I Can Only Imagine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Can Only Imagine Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 7, 2018
I can't imagine this Christian-based film reaching much of a secular audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 8, 2018
[A] slickly assembled tale of redemption and reconciliation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2018
An inspirational drama that, unlike most faith-based endeavors, at least looks like a real movie rather than something even Ed Wood would have rejected.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 10, 2018
Solid if unapologetically by-the-numbers, this story of perseverance and forgiveness should resonate beyond its targeted Christian audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 2, 2018
With excellent performances from [Dennis] Quaid and [J. Michael Finley] Finley the result is decent. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 28, 2018
I Can Only Imagine is a timely release for this Easter, delicately balancing the need to bring out the importance of forgiveness without being too evangelical.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 22, 2018
Though it will never be championed as an insightful work of either religious art or patriarchal psychology, I Can Only Imagine does manage to be a good film about a great song.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 21, 2018
It shattered expectations with $17.1 million opening weekend nation wide, is Roadside Attractions highest theatrical debut with #1 Per-Screen Average (More than $3K above Black Panther, has a lot going for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5
March 21, 2018
As entertaining as it is uplifting. Actor J. Michael Finley makes a winning debut .
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2018
Over the last few years, the quality of faith-based movies has continued to improve. And here's another good one. I Can Only Imagine...is watchable and uplifting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2018
Art can be affirmation, but affirmation cannot be art.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 20, 2018
You don't have to be a hardcore Christian music fan to enjoy I Can Only Imagine, but it definitely helps.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 19, 2018
This moving faith-based musical biopic of the smash song hits all the right notes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 19, 2018
Works best for fans of the song or of Christian music in general, but it has enough relatable, not-too-cheesy drama for some crossover appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 18, 2018
The emotional impact of this film is powerful thanks to its central theme of redemption, plus strong performances by J MIchael Finley and always reliable actor Dennis Quaid,
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 18, 2018
The movie works for the same reason the song does: It lightens the burden of the pain people are shouldering today, and gives them something to look forward to.
March 16, 2018
A solid offering that's given me faith that a faith-based film can deliver something beyond a sermon. (Full Content Review for Parents - Violence, Parental Abuse, etc. - also Available)
March 16, 2018
This is an interesting idea, executed with a reductive, tin-eared understanding of what constitutes art to go along with a faith-based movie's reductive, tin-eared understanding of what constitutes entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: D
March 16, 2018
Like so many faith-based efforts, I Can Only Imagine suffers from a terminal case of self-importance.
March 16, 2018
Why is the movie made from a universally healing single such an earnest, awkward dud? Well, partly because the movie can't settle on what's more important, the family stuff or the ascension of the song as a fame-inducing anthem.
Page 1 of 2