I Can Only Imagine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Can Only Imagine Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 10, 2018
Solid if unapologetically by-the-numbers, this story of perseverance and forgiveness should resonate beyond its targeted Christian audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 2, 2018
With excellent performances from [Dennis] Quaid and [J. Michael Finley] Finley the result is decent. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 28, 2018
I Can Only Imagine is a timely release for this Easter, delicately balancing the need to bring out the importance of forgiveness without being too evangelical.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 22, 2018
Though it will never be championed as an insightful work of either religious art or patriarchal psychology, I Can Only Imagine does manage to be a good film about a great song.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 21, 2018
It shattered expectations with $17.1 million opening weekend nation wide, is Roadside Attractions highest theatrical debut with #1 Per-Screen Average (More than $3K above Black Panther, has a lot going for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 5
March 21, 2018
As entertaining as it is uplifting. Actor J. Michael Finley makes a winning debut .
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2018
Over the last few years, the quality of faith-based movies has continued to improve. And here's another good one. I Can Only Imagine...is watchable and uplifting.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2018
This moving faith-based musical biopic of the smash song hits all the right notes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 19, 2018
Works best for fans of the song or of Christian music in general, but it has enough relatable, not-too-cheesy drama for some crossover appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 18, 2018
The emotional impact of this film is powerful thanks to its central theme of redemption, plus strong performances by J MIchael Finley and always reliable actor Dennis Quaid,
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
March 18, 2018
The movie works for the same reason the song does: It lightens the burden of the pain people are shouldering today, and gives them something to look forward to.
March 16, 2018
A solid offering that's given me faith that a faith-based film can deliver something beyond a sermon. (Full Content Review for Parents - Violence, Parental Abuse, etc. - also Available)
March 16, 2018
Poignant faith-based drama about hit song's inspiration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 16, 2018
Need more proof the faith-based film genre continues to mature? Here you go...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2018
The real love stories in this movie are between a father and son; a man and his God; and a singer and his song.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 15, 2018
But overall, I Can Only Imagine is an indie that does the song and its sentiments proud.
March 1, 2018
I Can Only Imagine is probably the best film of the Christian genre that I have seen so far and certainly the best from brothers Jon and Andrew Erwin (October Baby).
September 7, 2018
I can't imagine this Christian-based film reaching much of a secular audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 8, 2018
[A] slickly assembled tale of redemption and reconciliation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 17, 2018
An inspirational drama that, unlike most faith-based endeavors, at least looks like a real movie rather than something even Ed Wood would have rejected.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2