I Can Only Imagine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Can Only Imagine Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 20, 2018
You don't have to be a hardcore Christian music fan to enjoy I Can Only Imagine, but it definitely helps.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 21, 2018
Art can be affirmation, but affirmation cannot be art.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 15, 2018
Emotionally flat and uninspiring "inspirational" bio-pic about the hard life that led a composer to write the title Christian ballad.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 7, 2018
I can't imagine this Christian-based film reaching much of a secular audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 16, 2018
Why is the movie made from a universally healing single such an earnest, awkward dud? Well, partly because the movie can't settle on what's more important, the family stuff or the ascension of the song as a fame-inducing anthem.
March 16, 2018
This is an interesting idea, executed with a reductive, tin-eared understanding of what constitutes art to go along with a faith-based movie's reductive, tin-eared understanding of what constitutes entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: D
June 17, 2018
An inspirational drama that, unlike most faith-based endeavors, at least looks like a real movie rather than something even Ed Wood would have rejected.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 15, 2018
A movie that's unquestionably preaching to the choir as directly as Millard's song sings to it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 16, 2018
Like so many faith-based efforts, I Can Only Imagine suffers from a terminal case of self-importance.
August 8, 2018
[A] slickly assembled tale of redemption and reconciliation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 28, 2018
I Can Only Imagine is a timely release for this Easter, delicately balancing the need to bring out the importance of forgiveness without being too evangelical.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 1, 2018
I Can Only Imagine is probably the best film of the Christian genre that I have seen so far and certainly the best from brothers Jon and Andrew Erwin (October Baby).
June 10, 2018
Solid if unapologetically by-the-numbers, this story of perseverance and forgiveness should resonate beyond its targeted Christian audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 19, 2018
This moving faith-based musical biopic of the smash song hits all the right notes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 22, 2018
Though it will never be championed as an insightful work of either religious art or patriarchal psychology, I Can Only Imagine does manage to be a good film about a great song.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 16, 2018
Need more proof the faith-based film genre continues to mature? Here you go...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2018
Works best for fans of the song or of Christian music in general, but it has enough relatable, not-too-cheesy drama for some crossover appeal.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 16, 2018
Poignant faith-based drama about hit song's inspiration.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 2, 2018
With excellent performances from [Dennis] Quaid and [J. Michael Finley] Finley the result is decent. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 15, 2018
But overall, I Can Only Imagine is an indie that does the song and its sentiments proud.
Page 1 of 2