I Don't Know How She Does It - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Don't Know How She Does It Reviews

November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
September 17, 2011
Oh, look, it's rich people in beautifully appointed houses and they're worried that the nanny might not arrive on time for them to make important morning meetings at work. Boo-hoo.
Top Critic
September 16, 2011
In the chick-flick world, hell is other women, and here specifically it's the stay-at-home wife and mother.
September 16, 2011
How nice it would have been had McKenna penned a couple of those audience-addressing interludes for Richard or Jack. What would these modern, succesful men tell us of themselves?
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 16, 2011
I Don't Know How She Does It purports to be about the difficult choices of modern motherhood, but it's too prim and cautious a movie to dip a pedicured toe into the murky waters of real choice.
September 16, 2011
The main problem is that this Boston-set flick quite unselfconsciously presents itself as if it were a pop-culture first to express ideas about the working-mom balancing act.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 16, 2011
A lot more watchable than its awful trailer indicates.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 16, 2011
A meager one-joke comedy peopled by stereotypes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 16, 2011
The film is so bad it's hard to imagine anything saving it.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
September 16, 2011
Like its main character, "I Don't Know How She Does It" tries to do everything, but it doesn't quite succeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 16, 2011
Any working mother is bound to see herself in this. Provided she is also a fictional character on a sitcom, that is.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 15, 2011
Though it aims to be a sharply humorous look at the mommy wars, I Don't Know How She Does It has nothing remotely new or comical in its arsenal.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2011
Spiffy-looking, well-intentioned but ultimately witless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 15, 2011
Why was a string of sitcom problems stretched to 91 minutes?
September 15, 2011
"I Don't Know How She Does It" seems stuck in the past.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 15, 2011
What the hell happened to Sarah Jessica Parker?
September 15, 2011
It's not that I Don't Know How She Does It tells actual lies about working motherhood - many of its observations and jokes are on point - it's just that it omits the edge, the desperation of a woman on the verge.
September 15, 2011
Leaves you wondering why nobody involved with this film seems to have ever met an actual working mother.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 15, 2011
In describing the conflict of a woman who has it all without enjoying it all, Pearson's book had teeth. McKenna's screenplay has only a smile. But is it ever good to laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 15, 2011
The result is like that bake sale pie: All the ingredients are there, but it's really sloppy and not quite fresh.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 15, 2011
Occasionally veers so far into absurdity that it manages to make its central character - capable, smart, working mom Kate Reddy - look like a nitwit.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 15, 2011
It's smart, swanky, and good-looking, but strangely, it's not all that funny.
September 15, 2011
For roughly 70 minutes, I Don't Know How She Does It comes across as smart and witty, then it throws all that away in its quest for the perfect conclusion. "Perfect" in this case is synonymous with "fairy tale."
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 15, 2011
Like Parker's character, I Don't Know How She Does It wants to have it all, and has trouble committing to a course of action.
Read More | Original Score: C
September 15, 2011
We know how she does it. The better question is: Why should we care?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 15, 2011
"I Don't Know How She Does It" doesn't know how to do what I think it's trying to do.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2011
For a movie, it's pretty good at that balancing act Kate works so hard to achieve.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 14, 2011
I don't know why she does it.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
September 14, 2011
Subtlety is never this movie's strong point; then again, it's nearly impossible to pinpoint what this movie's strengths are.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 14, 2011
The idea that working moms feel the strain of achieving some balance more than working dads is nothing new. And that's true of most everything in the movie. We've been here and done that, repeatedly, over the past 25 years or more.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 14, 2011
"I Don't Know How She Does It" suggests what might have happened to Carrie if she had two kids with Mr. Big to worry about, and less time to obsess over her wardrobe.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 13, 2011
What I don't know: why these movies keep getting made.
September 13, 2011
Empathy rescues it from the brink of disaster porn -- it's so good-hearted and optimistic that stressed-out moms will feel the flick speaks directly to them, which it does.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 12, 2011
I Don't Know How She Does It is a cliché-ridden, misogynistic mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 12, 2011
Parker reminds you what a dizzy, all-in, high-risk comic actress she can be when she's not too busy showing off the couture.
September 11, 2011
Fortunately McGrath ultimately moves beyond the shtick and keeps things moving at an agreeable pace, relying on his talented ensemble to capably close the deal.