I Feel Pretty Reviews

Page 2 of 7
May 28, 2018
I Feel Pretty is nowhere near as funny as it should be. It has little to do with Amy Schumer's skills as a comedian (who I think is often unfairly maligned), but the jokes she's been given to work with.
May 21, 2018
I Feel Pretty is presenting itself as the kind of film that reveals how ugly we are for laughing at body-related stereotypes, but then why make those your jokes?
May 21, 2018
'I Feel Pretty' isn't exactly beautiful.
May 21, 2018
It's the kind of movie where the audience will be a few steps ahead of the narrative as opposed to the other way around.
May 10, 2018
Self-confidence is everything, they tell us again and again, and leave us with the feeling of having attended a self-help sermon disguised as comedy. [Full review Spanish]
May 9, 2018
The film's body-positive preaching is clearly well meant, it's also muddled.
May 9, 2018
Not really Amy Schumer at her best.
May 9, 2018
Talk about having your low-calorie cereal bar and eating it.
May 9, 2018
The big problem I have with this film is that I don't get the 'I'm ugly' shtick. By any barometer other than the barmiest of body fascism, Amy Schumer is a very attractive woman. And if you think she's fat, well then you're stupid.
May 8, 2018
It's clear that there was a more complex intent with the message of I Feel Pretty that unfortunately failed to see the light of day. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 7, 2018
Is this stuff supposed to be funny? These scenes are cut and shot like they're jam-packed with laughs, but our audience was so quiet and uncomfortable, you'd think we were at a rep screening of 'Shoah.'
May 7, 2018
Like a few too many films churned out of the predominantly male studio system and marketed to a female audience, you get a sense that, deep down, it doesn't have a particularly high opinion of women.
May 4, 2018
Did Amy Schumer read the script before signing up?
May 4, 2018
A shame.
May 4, 2018
It could have done, dare I say, with a makeover.
May 4, 2018
An interesting comedy premise, about the superficiality of contemporary metropolitan life, is turned on its head by some shaky plotting and even shakier directorial choices.
May 3, 2018
A film about peering beneath the surface, I Feel Pretty ultimately ignores its own advice.
May 3, 2018
The familiarity of the story is the least of the problems.
May 3, 2018
The only means it can find to be funny is sabotaging its own message, which isn't a great starting point, let alone finishing point, for a body-positive comedy.
May 3, 2018
It is more a parable of how celebrities like Schumer, on becoming successful, suddenly get an inkling of how beautiful people have always felt. I Feel Famous would be an alternative title.
Page 2 of 7