I, Frankenstein - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I, Frankenstein Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 8, 2017
The monster might live, but unfortunately it gets lost within all the chaos surrounding him.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 10, 2017
Stabbing along at a plodding 90 minutes, I, Frankenstein is toothless and dull, with no fun to be found, a PG-rated Saturday morning cartoon at best. Keep swinging, Eckhart.
April 14, 2016
Writer-director Stuart Beattie and his cast and crew tear into their bad idea with vigor.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 4, 2016
Whether in 2D or 3D, it does not have enough of a plot to intrigue or the character development to keep your attention off the clichés, derivative designs and that there is way too much CGI.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 23, 2015
The effects are poor, the dialogue is laughable, and despite Aaron Eckhart's valiant efforts, the whole thing feels like a cheesy TV movie.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
October 23, 2014
Here's hoping there's no follow-up to the amazingly dull adventures of Frankenstein's Monster.
October 10, 2014
It takes less than four minutes to realise that this Underworld-style, graphic novel adaptation won't keep anyone in the audience sitting bolt upright for long.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 15, 2014
Humanity's fate hangs in the balance, but it's hard to work up much excitement for the routine CGI-boosted battles between good and evil forces, or for the less than sparky rapport between Eckhart's Monster and Strahovski's lissome blonde scientist.
June 3, 2014
I, Frankenstein leaves itself open to be franchised, but the chances of that happening are equal to Eckhart putting this film at the top of his resume.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 23, 2014
Even the title card is garish
Full Review | Original Score: D+
May 12, 2014
Even the most avid action junkies would have a hard time not rolling their eyes at the blandness of it all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 21, 2014
If a worse studio film comes out this year, we're in deep trouble, people. This film is so bad it will hurt your brain. And even if you leave your brain at home, your spinal column will still object...[a] godawful, lame-brained mess of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
March 21, 2014
I, Frankenstein, with its monster reinvented as a superhero, is a fairly predictable action movie. Shelley would not have approved.
March 21, 2014
Only in occasional, uncanny moments - when someone uses an iPhone, or gets off a tram - does this world appear to intersect in any way with our own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 18, 2014
Mary Shelley's words come to mind: "Oh, why did you create me!"
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 18, 2014
It is disappointing and you look at all the talent that's gone into it. I was really underwhelmed by Strahovski's performance, I must say.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 18, 2014
The numerous battles are confusingly handled and the actors aren't given many opportunities given the dialogue they're forced to speak.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 18, 2014
Devoid of any appeal that isn't concentrated around star Aaron Eckhart's impeccably-sculpted muscles, this effects-laden lump of cinematic coal is as nonsensical and ill-conceived as it is boring.
Read More | Original Score: D-
March 17, 2014
An animated corpse of a film about a reanimated one.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 16, 2014
There are a lot of people local and abroad responsible for this dismal film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 5