I Hate Valentine's Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Hate Valentine's Day Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 10, 2009
It's like eating a plain Hershey's bar on that supposedly most romantic day of the year. It may soothe your sweet tooth for a brief bit, but you'll still be longing for Godiva.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
July 6, 2009
Everyone who's ever seen a movie knows where this is headed... but getting there is breezy, fun, and most importantly, well-executed.
July 3, 2009
[I] enjoyed the cheap silliness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 30, 2009
The strength of Vardalos' movies is that she loves all of her fellow actors and allows large ensembles to flourish.
June 30, 2009
An alternately kooky and kinky comedy about the impossibility of establishing a science of romance, the movie is salvaged from small screen sitcomish attitude by the enormous warmth and vivacious personality of Vardolos, even when in pretend tyrant mode.
July 31, 2012
This movie is so poorly written, with inexplicable characters making ridiculous choices, and the dialogue is simply cringe-worthy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 10, 2009
A big fat Greek flop!
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
July 10, 2009
A charmless rom-com about an exhaustingly vivacious florist.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 6, 2009
I found it to be really one note. This is not authentic modern courtship.
July 6, 2009
Uninspired romcom is no My Big Fat Greek Wedding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 3, 2009
An unspeakable nadir in the career of its writer-director-star, My Big Fat Greek Wedding's Nia Vardalos.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 3, 2009
All I Hate Valentine's Day adds up to is an awkward, ritualized date between moviegoer and a still-learning triple hyphenate.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
July 3, 2009
What it lacks in laughs -- there are none -- it tries to make up for by ladling on stale clichés, such as Vardalos' two stereotypically gay assistants and a desperate younger female friend who stalks guys.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
July 3, 2009
A contrived, juvenile and painfully unfunny romantic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.75/10
July 3, 2009
For I Hate Valentine's Day, Vardalos has chosen to direct. And that's a mistake that only compounds the ones in her screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 3, 2009
You might blame Nora Ephron, whose screenplay for When Harry Met Sally established the formula that I Hate Valentine's Day runs into the ground. Compared with this, Ms. Ephron is Chekhov.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
July 3, 2009
The movie is set up as a valentine to Vardalos. She should try sending herself flowers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 2, 2009
An indie romantic comedy even worse than most of the bigger-budgeted but almost invariably rotten Hollywood examples of the genre.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 2, 2009
Nia Vardalos wrote, directed and stars in this clunky, unfunny and plodding mess. She doesn't write dialogue, she writes shtick. Her direction seems awkward and amateurish, her acting is more like mugging.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
July 2, 2009
Given the inevitable response to this equally regrettable rom-com, she can expect to loathe Independence Day, too.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 2