I Love You, Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Love You, Man Reviews

April 17, 2009
The concept is solid, applying rusty romcom clichés to a tale of new-found masculine buddydom. But the plot is scatty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 23, 2009
I Love You, Man is the second movie this year -- He's Just Not That Into You being the first -- with a popular catchphrase for its title. This is one of the film's few distinctions.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 20, 2009
It's a thin premise, and I Love You, Man features the usual quota of jokes involving masturbation, projectile vomiting and flatulence. But is it worth it? Thanks to Rudd and Segel (and some terrific cameos), totes magotes.
March 20, 2009
The picture is worth catching for the delicate and toxic nuances of Rudd's performance.
March 20, 2009
Though the script doesn't always rise to their level, I Love You, Man is more than worth seeing for the chemistry between the shambling Segel and the endlessly inventive Rudd.
March 20, 2009
It's a hilarious comedy made even more successful because so much of the satire seems fresh.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 20, 2009
The marvelous thing about John Hamburg's new comedy, I Love You, Man, is that rather than conforming to fit into some preexisting trend, it recognizes and even exalts in the reality that close male friendships can be a source of confusion and awkwardness.
March 20, 2009
Luckily, the cast is so winning, that the occasional sexism can be ignored, and the off-the-wall pop culture name-checks (Lou Ferrigno, as a guest star?) enjoyed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 20, 2009
I Love You, Man, which is like listening to a 105-minute conversation be tween Ross and Joey on Friends, looks like it might be a Judd Apatow movie in the same way Brett Favre, in a Jets uniform, looked like he might still know how to play quarterback.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 20, 2009
In almost every major detail and minor plot hiccup, the sweet, vulgar, hilariously awkward I Love You, Man follows Ye Olde Formulae for standard romantic comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 20, 2009
It's a one-joke pony, but director John Hamburg and his screenwriters manage to stretch it to nearly two hours of hilarity and quasi-profundity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 20, 2009
The comedy I Love You, Man marks the overdue emergence of Paul Rudd as a star.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 20, 2009
I Love You, Man is a success; it's Fight Club with hugs, not fists.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 20, 2009
As sweet as it is tart.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 20, 2009
I Love You, Man feels like a clever concept in search of a completely developed movie.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 20, 2009
Its wit and ingenuous characters prove how far the bar's been raised.
March 20, 2009
A fitfully funny comedy that owes much to Judd Apatow.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 20, 2009
Despite the clever premise and several laugh-aloud moments, the film as a whole underwhelms.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 19, 2009
Smarter than it looks from its ubiquitous trailer, but not smart enough to be a fully satisfying adult comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 19, 2009
I Love You, Man's light-hearted exploration of male bonding provides substantial fodder for humor, heightened by the inspired casting of two of the industry's most appealing comic actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2009
In a down market for giggles (Miss March? Please!), Paul Rudd and Jason Segel are howlingly funny. They have skills.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2009
It never settles into a comfortable comic groove, but maybe discomfort is the point.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 19, 2009
I Love You, Man could have been so much more than the series of missed opportunities -- not to mention the predictable humor -- it turned out to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 19, 2009
Writer/director John Hamburg smartly tweaks Hollywood formulas while following them to the letter, and it's the way everybody plays things perfectly straight (so to speak) that makes ILYM so much fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 19, 2009
The movie is The Odd Couple with a looser vibe and more oral sex references.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2009
Among those buddy films lately called 'bromances,' ILYM is both the best friend and best man.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 19, 2009
It's a bromance that's out and proud. In the liberation are the laughs, and they stick to your ribs longer than you'd think.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2009
What saves I Love You, Man, at least partially, is the relaxed chemistry between Paul Rudd and Jason Segel, both very funny men who are genuine enough to push back against a premise that's often maddeningly artificial.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 19, 2009
The key to the success of I Love You, Man is that both actors deliver recognizably human performances within the formulaic structure.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 19, 2009
The resulting quest is hilarious and socially astute, because co-writer/director John Hamburg keeps the story grounded in a Judd Apatow-ish reality that never edges into the surreal.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2009
Even though I Love You, Man supplies plenty of cringes, it also has overtones of warmth and undertones of real humor, and two stars -- Paul Rudd and Jason Segel -- who do what they do with aplomb.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 19, 2009
It's funny with some dumb physical humor, yes, and some gross-out jokes apparently necessary to all buddy movies, but also funny in observations, dialogue, physical behavior and Sydney Fife's observations as a people-watcher.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 18, 2009
Paul Rudd gives a startlingly funny and original performance as a nice guy with serious dweebish tendencies, and the delight of what Rudd does here comes down to how exquisitely embarrassing he is to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 18, 2009
Unlike Apatow opuses, Hamburg knows not to overstay his welcome. I Love You, Man is a the biff-bam/thank-you-man of "boys need boyfriends" comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 18, 2009
It's just a well-made, ribald comedy by people who are really good at this kind of thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 17, 2009
Just as we thought the "bromantic comedy" had overstayed its welcome, the genre reaches its highest point with I Love You, Man.
March 17, 2009
The beauty of it lies both in the details of the relationship and the larger chemistry Rudd and Segel share.
March 16, 2009
The slight Rudd and the gangly Segel strike the right physical contrast for comedy. And they're playing an odd couple reminiscent of Neil Simon's classic pairing of a fussbudget and a slob.
March 16, 2009
Pic never surmounts a deeply lame central premise that makes most of the action seem fraudulent and thoroughly unnecessary.
March 16, 2009
I Love You, Man is totally formulaic, but the formula is unnervingly (and hilariously) inside out.
March 9, 2009
This is a film that right out of the gate, brings you into the humor and it doesn't stop throughout the entire movie.
March 9, 2009
Rudd and Segel excel with a smart script and Rashida Jones is very funny and authentic.