I Love You Phillip Morris - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Love You Phillip Morris Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 15, 2013
[E]asily one of the best comedies of the last several years.
June 30, 2013
Jim Carrey succeeds but the film is too mean-spirited and its supporting players too one-dimensional to make this story worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
June 22, 2013
Even when the movie's doing something stupid, you just bemusedly shake your head and dive right back in, forgiving everything, even if you don't know why. Isn't that what love's all about?
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 16, 2013
Despite its title, it has nothing to do with cigarettes. But its star, as he once famously said on screen, is absolutely "smokin'."
October 24, 2012
...it's the film's fearless go-for broke style which makes I Love You Phillip Morris such a success.
August 12, 2011
Jim Carrey brings dynamo force to the story of a brilliant con man and the guy he loved
August 2, 2011
ILYPM is quite good and it's a shame that this film was shunted around the backburners for so long.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 31, 2011
Above all, it is the wonderful performances of Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor as a couple of misfits for whom love is everything, that stay with us
July 11, 2011
I'm describing I Love You Phillip Morris as an inferior version of Catch Me If You Can. It's trying to tell a similar story in a similar vein but it just doesn't work.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 17, 2011
Inspirada en una increíble historia real, esta comedia de Jim Carrey no es para nada la típica comedia de Jim Carrey, aunque haga uso de sus habituales recursos histriónicos. Una comedia romántica absurda, irreverente y gay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 15, 2011
But truth be told, no film has conveyed true love quite as convincingly in a very long time.
April 18, 2011
A remarkably strong debut...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 4, 2011
You have to hand it to Jim Carrey. He could take the easy paycheck time after time in bland movie after bland movie, but he keeps on running down these weird roads and that's where he winds up doing his best work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 1, 2011
Leaving aside the extent in which the premise of I Love You Phillip Morris is essentially very sad and serious, this is overall an extremely funny and at times very sweet romantic comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 14, 2011
You couldn't make this story up, as the truth proves to be stranger than fiction.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 4, 2011
This is the most interesting role Carrey has had in a long while.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 1, 2011
It's a joy to see Carrey used in a way that revels in his schizophrenic nature while also trying to make some authentic emotional sense of it as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 31, 2011
Jim Carrey is the narrator... transforming what could have been a cliched con man comedy, generic Jim Carrey-character comedy or run-of-the-mill gay coming-out comedy into something smarter, sweeter and downright giddy.
January 24, 2011
Carrey reminds us here... that he can be a genuinely passionate actor able to skillfully combine comedy with pathos when he is removed from the Hollywood machine, which strives to turn him into a cartoon...
January 16, 2011
I like the outre screwball flavor of the piece; it feels a little like Steven Spielberg's Catch Me If You Can crossed with one of John Waters' gently transgressive cult movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 82/100
Page 1 of 8