I Love You Phillip Morris - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Love You Phillip Morris Reviews

Page 1 of 8
June 30, 2013
Jim Carrey succeeds but the film is too mean-spirited and its supporting players too one-dimensional to make this story worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
January 5, 2011
It's a jokey, flirty pile of wink-wink to let the audience know these two heterosexual actors are pretending to be in love just to get a laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 11, 2011
I'm describing I Love You Phillip Morris as an inferior version of Catch Me If You Can. It's trying to tell a similar story in a similar vein but it just doesn't work.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 16, 2011
I like the outre screwball flavor of the piece; it feels a little like Steven Spielberg's Catch Me If You Can crossed with one of John Waters' gently transgressive cult movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 82/100
December 10, 2010
Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of I Love You Phillip Morris is its inability to maintain the high level at which it begins -- a withering lampoon of wholesome, middle class values.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 22, 2010
You're left with a feeling of a missed opportunity. I just like you, Phillip Morris.
March 22, 2010
Unfortunately, the fact that it's based on a true story is the only convincing thing about the movie.
December 10, 2010
The romance between them is touching at its best moments, corny at its worst.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 17, 2010
The trouble is that, while Carrey is transforming himself into a guy who fills a hole in his soul with a big big love, Ewan McGregor is barely skimming the surface of his (admittedly underwritten) nice-guy role.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 2, 2010
Let's just be friends, Phillip Morris, 'K?
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 2, 2010
Though Carrey seems to be giving his heart to Steven's romance with Phillip, and pouring a lot of sweat equity into very vigorous sex, he never gets beyond his Jim Carrey-ness to let us discover the character.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 3, 2010
"I Love You Phillip Morris" not only blasts gay stereotypes back decades, it could actually make people wish for a third Ace Ventura movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 27, 2010
Carrey and McGregor are fascinating as prison lovers, but the dark tone and explicit sexuality make for a confusing film that also tries to be funny. It rarely succeeds.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 2, 2010
Directors John Requa and Glenn Ficarra, who wrote the wickedly hilarious Bad Santa, assume a mocking tone that falls flat. They aspire for a cleverly offbeat vibe, but it feels forced and calculated.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 22, 2010
The cons and the crimes misfire on screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 10, 2010
It's somewhat appropriate that the movie nearly debuted on DVD stateside since it's worth a rental for Carrey but too frustrating for the cost of theatrical admission.
March 19, 2010
Loved the chutzpah, but the heart and the funny bone are left relatively untroubled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 9, 2010
Steven Russell is a slippery character that the film never fully gets its hands on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 28, 2010
Lots of hilarious antics, but not a comprehensive film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 8, 2010
Defined by puppy love, a crude sense of humor, and rampant immorality, the characters here are as repulsive and shallow as the film that contains them.
Full Review | Original Score: 22/100
Page 1 of 8