I Love You Phillip Morris Reviews

Page 3 of 8
December 23, 2010
A satisfying and often very funny film.
December 23, 2010
Slapdash, invigorating screwball romance
December 20, 2010
Following nearly a year of woeful foreign runs and film-fest screenings, the Jim Carrey gay-love comedy finally presents itself for our inspection. I can hear you asking: Why?
December 18, 2010
Jim Carrey gives it his all. The con makes this movie worth seeing even if you never feel the love.
December 17, 2010
It's confused and confusing, by turns hilarious and off-putting. In short, it's awfully hard to love I Love You Philip Morris.
December 17, 2010
A charismatic little underdog of a movie.
December 17, 2010
Yes, some familiar Carrey tactics are on display, but the star's performance has real heart - it's easily the best thing he has done since Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.
December 17, 2010
The trouble is that, while Carrey is transforming himself into a guy who fills a hole in his soul with a big big love, Ewan McGregor is barely skimming the surface of his (admittedly underwritten) nice-guy role.
December 16, 2010
Carrey fearlessly gives it his best shot, but this fundamental schizophrenia strong-armed me out of the film, and left me feeling like McGregor's more grounded performance existed in another movie entirely.
December 16, 2010
A delirious comedy that remains on track largely thanks to Jim Carrey's goofy but grounded performance.
December 16, 2010
It's satire, but not quite funny enough; a love story, but not quite sincere enough.
December 13, 2010
Another fantastic performance by Carrie, not be mention McGregor. Living proof that the only difference between fact and fiction is that fiction has to make sense.
December 11, 2010
Stranger danger than fiction, I Love You Phillip Morris has all the makings to be one of the year's most successful, certainly enjoyable, films.
December 10, 2010
It's funny because it's true. That's the idea behind the mad-love story I Love You Phillip Morris, which gets its kicks by being much stranger than fiction.
December 10, 2010
As a romantic comedy, it's better than any of the half-hearted, interchangeable flicks that normally dominate the genre, in part because of the smart laughs, but mostly because it refuses to play to genre conventions.
December 10, 2010
The romance between them is touching at its best moments, corny at its worst.
December 10, 2010
It finds the humor in an unlikely love story, and it resists any temptation to play it straight.
December 10, 2010
It's somewhat appropriate that the movie nearly debuted on DVD stateside since it's worth a rental for Carrey but too frustrating for the cost of theatrical admission.
December 10, 2010
The role is a good fit for Carrey, who manages to dial down his usual mug-a-minute schtick while still being funny, capturing the manic, paranoid heart fluttering beneath Russell's trust-me exterior.
December 10, 2010
Carrey is exuberant and, of course, funny in his most layered role to date.
Page 3 of 8