I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Displays considerable heart
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
November 8, 2007
This film is stupid, but it has a reckless bravery... and I found myself giggling more than once.
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
September 20, 2007
Enjoyable, sharply written and frequently hilarious, this is Adam Sandler's best comedy since The Wedding Singer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
August 2, 2007
James has a big screen quality that reminded me of Chris Farley, who could also find a way to be both sweet and funny
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
July 30, 2007
Overall, if you like Adam Sandler movies this one won't disappoint.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
July 26, 2007
I laughed enough to assure myself I wasn't wasting my time, but not enough to convince me Sandler isn't on cruise control.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Stax
IGN Movies
July 23, 2007
Despite its shortcomings, Chuck and Larry should satiate the modest tastes of the run-of the-mill viewer who simply wants some trite entertainment and easy laughs to pass the time with.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
July 21, 2007
wants to appeal to fans of Billy Madison with its homophobichetero jokes while sucking in The Wedding Singer crowd with its tolerancemessage and 'softer-side-of-Sandler.'
Full Review | Original Score: C+

Bullz-Eye.com
July 21, 2007
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
July 20, 2007
Chuck and Larry remains something close to remarkable: an Adam Sandler movie that manages to be crude and caring in equal measure. In the multiplex, this is called progress.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
July 20, 2007
Chuck & Larry proves that even the silliest comedy can offer important food for thought.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
July 20, 2007
The movie is often stupid. But coming from an industry institutionally terrified of being honest about its own sexuality, it feels brave, going a step further than 'not that there's anything wrong with that.'
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kevin Carr
Film School Rejects
July 20, 2007
a gay rights film aimed at homophobic heterosexuals
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian Orndorf
eFilmCritic.com
July 19, 2007
Chuck & Larry is a clumsy comedy, made with heartening intentions, but a little wobbly in execution. But you know what? It isn't Click, and that's something to celebrate.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
July 19, 2007
If there's a saving grace, and there is, it's that the movie strives, in its often-awkward way, for acceptance. And how bad can that be?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 19, 2007
I now pronounce it better than you'd think.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
David Foucher
EDGE Boston
July 19, 2007
The seditious accomplishments of "Chuck and Larry" may be entirely lost on millions of Sandler fans, who will squirm through their laughter and ultimately come to understand what intolerance feels like.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
July 19, 2007
They go at it with such beguiling gusto and heart that I totally bought the movie's dust-covered message about the primacy of friendship over sexual preference.
Armond White
New York Press
July 18, 2007
It's a modern classic (despite a cheap-shot plug for Giuliani). By comparison, Hollywood's most celebrated gay comedies -- In and Out, Chuck and Buck, Blades of Glory, even the laughable Brokeback Mountain -- were all failures of nerve.
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews
March 3, 2012

Sydney Morning Herald
August 17, 2007

Screen International
July 31, 2007
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
July 21, 2007
Page 1 of 8