I.O.U.S.A. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I.O.U.S.A. Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 15, 2011
Bottom line: The party's over. There's no such thing as a free lunch. America itself may be a bubble.
March 9, 2011
If more people had watched this film, they might still have their houses.
January 14, 2010
Well made, informative and genuinely terrifying documentary, in which the use of humour can't quite diminish the spectre of doom and gloom.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 27, 2009
Think of this important documentary as Economics 101, a primer on how America and Americans spend, and what hardships the future holds for us unless we change the pattern and our habits quickly.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 23, 2009
For a film starring the national debt, this is a good one. The expected tedious numerical research is accompanied by excellent graphics and archival footage that bring it alive. Is anyone listening?
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 22, 2009
Practically begs audiences to declaim it essential viewing, rather than quietly convincing us
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 5, 2009
Fending off the global repo man
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 17, 2008
I.O.U.S.A manages to keep this dense, dry information dynamic enough to be interesting and terrifying enough to be important.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 7, 2008
If you believe the terrifying documentary I.O.U.S.A., America is headed for a financial crisis of monumental proportions - and apparently, we are probably too late to keep it from happening.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 20, 2008
Its aim is to raise awareness of an impending financial disaster if America continues acting fiscally and morally irresponsible.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 20, 2008
[A] timely documentary...There is a sense of urgency that propels Creadon's cautionary narrative as an alarming wake-up call to financial discipline.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
November 17, 2008
Creadon avoids turning his film into a partisan slugfest, instead opting to focus on how our country as a whole must come together.
Full Review | Original Score: 68/100
November 14, 2008
This solid doc reminds us how unsustainable the current American economy is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
November 14, 2008
A film with an urgent message that uses the medium to its advantage.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 14, 2008
Unexpectedly entertaining, given that it's about dodgy accounting on an epic scale, the film predicts an economic cold shower that is about to douse America's prospects, thanks to its ever-expanding national debt.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 14, 2008
This movie is a scary, exhilarating blast of atheist common sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 14, 2008
Patrick Creadon's film is a lucid history lesson in the failures of successive Republican presidents to put a stopper in the country's leaking fiscal hole.
November 14, 2008
Chastening, compelling.
November 14, 2008
Not something your average cinemagoer wants to see but important information nonetheless. Let's hope Obama is watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 13, 2008
It makes a very good effort at trying to cover this enormous, important, complex issue of the national debt in less than an hour and a half.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 4