I.O.U.S.A. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I.O.U.S.A. Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 5, 2008
The message is fine, but the movie is not.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 21, 2008
This is less a film than an argument -- so much so that it's hard to imagine many film critics, or audiences, without some knowledge of economic history being able to respond to it in any way except with sheer terror.
October 2, 2008
Loaded with graphs, facts and statistics, it is too weighty a lesson in economics to be digested in 90 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 22, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 20, 2008
It's too bad Creadon breezes through potential solutions to the problem and ends his film with what basically amounts to a Rock the Vote ad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 22, 2009
Practically begs audiences to declaim it essential viewing, rather than quietly convincing us
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2008
It's like Michael Moore decided to tackle the national debt, but finally kept himself and his personal agenda out of the way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 22, 2008
Here's the bottom line, kids. The United States is probably going to go broke during your lifetimes.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 26, 2008
this movie makes a devastating case for the consequence of our current "rob Peter to pay Paul" budgetary shell game.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 9, 2011
If more people had watched this film, they might still have their houses.
August 15, 2011
Bottom line: The party's over. There's no such thing as a free lunch. America itself may be a bubble.
August 20, 2008
Is to the country's troubled economy what An Inconvenient Truth was to global warming ... it's extremely effective at getting its message across.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 20, 2008
Devalued-dollar documentary drives home the point that a country which consumes more than it produces is unsustainable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 7, 2008
It's possible that filmmaker Patrick Creadon's greatest accomplishment in his new film, I.O.U.S.A., is turning U.S. fiscal policy into a funny piece of entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 69/100
December 7, 2008
If you believe the terrifying documentary I.O.U.S.A., America is headed for a financial crisis of monumental proportions - and apparently, we are probably too late to keep it from happening.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 20, 2008
For a topic as inherently boring as economics, [director Patrick] Creadon has managed a creditable job of keeping our attention throughout I.O.U.S.A.
August 12, 2008
Creadon's managed to turn dry material into engaging cinema before with the nerderiffic Wordplay, and though I.O.U.S.A. lacks that film's narrative tension -- this time, we know who loses -- it still sugars its medicine.
Page 1 of 4