I.O.U.S.A. - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I.O.U.S.A. Reviews

November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 14, 2008
This solid doc reminds us how unsustainable the current American economy is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
October 31, 2008
A movie that should be seen by everyone.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 30, 2008
You will not likely forget the Jeremiad it presents about how the United States has been living on borrowed money -- and borrowed time -- for decades and now is presenting the bill for our extravagance to our grandchildren.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 24, 2008
I.O.U.S.A. is a clear, cogent and compelling primer on contemporary American economics and the not-so-small matter of how we ended up at the edge of a precipice.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 24, 2008
A documentary about the U.S. addiction to debt, I.O.U.S.A. could have easily taken the title of another movie released this week, What Just Happened?
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 3, 2008
If this week's headlines have failed to convince you that the United States is on the verge of an economic meltdown, Patrick Creadon's scary new documentary, I.O.U.S.A., will demolish any lingering doubts.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 28, 2008
A sharp, absorbing portrait of our national debt crisis.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 22, 2008
Though the filmmaking is playful at times, the film is essentially 90 percent message, 10 percent movie. Then again, sometimes a message is important enough to make other considerations seem irrelevant.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 22, 2008
Packed with facts, figures and the testimony of policy experts, the film is no wallow in wonkiness, but a surprisingly sprightly tough-love lesson in fiscal responsibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
August 22, 2008
Documentarian Patrick Creadon does a nice job of making the daunting math and economic theories associated with our national debt accessible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 22, 2008
Any documentary about the alarming level of our national debt faces a major hurdle -- making the dismal subject at least somewhat palatable. I.O.U.S.A. does about as good a job as any film could be expected to, thanks to the direction of Patrick Creadon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 22, 2008
Sage audiences already concerned about their cash money will budget a few bucks to learn more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 22, 2008
The buck stops here in this sobering but disarmingly irreverent look at the national debt.
August 22, 2008
Yet another documentary that everyone should see but most will not.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 22, 2008
Here's the bottom line, kids. The United States is probably going to go broke during your lifetimes.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 22, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 21, 2008
There's no quick fix for a culture 'addicted to debt,' as one wag puts it in the film. But watching I.O.U.S.A. is a good place to start.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 21, 2008
Forceful and lucid.
August 21, 2008
This is less a film than an argument -- so much so that it's hard to imagine many film critics, or audiences, without some knowledge of economic history being able to respond to it in any way except with sheer terror.
August 19, 2008
Both a handy election primer and a bowel-rattling cry of fiscal doom.
January 24, 2008
An alternately amusing and alarming primer on America's off-the-charts fiscal irresponsibility.