I Origins Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 3, 2019
I Origins is a handsome film, yet that same elegance is lacking from a script too reliant on the discourse of binaries.
August 21, 2018
It plays out like Dharma and Greg-the rebellious and spiritual woman who woos the straight laced logical man-and this lack of originality is boring.
September 2, 2017
There are far too many times when the story simply looses its footing and falls into another tedious direction, leaving some angles completely dangling.
August 14, 2017
The longer the film goes on, the clunkier, sillier, and more preposterous it becomes. Expect your eyes to roll.
June 21, 2016
I Origins tries desperately to imbue a deeper metaphysical meaning with its narrative, but the alignment of all its concepts come off as disjointed and pretentious.
October 6, 2014
When it shifts away from the relationship, it really starts to feel forced. You can feel Cahill's hand leading you down the path toward another "discovery," and you can only hope the end will justify the means. Put simply, it doesn't.
October 3, 2014
Shame then that it lets itself down with some iffy dialogue and a slightly anticlimactic ending.
September 26, 2014
Some intriguing ideas lurk within writer-director Mike Cahill's screenplay, but he would have to be a Stanley Kubrick or a Jonathan Glazer to do justice to them.
September 25, 2014
One laugh, courtesy of Pitt's intellect-signifying dicky bow; the rest is arrant, po-faced nonsense.
September 22, 2014
Contrived and pretentious from title card to end credits.
September 12, 2014
While conceptually I Origins is no more absurd than Upstream Colour, it offers a lot less to chew on, depending on its stars to supply what credibility they can.
September 4, 2014
What develops inside this Petri dish is a pretentious and fatally self-conscious piece of work -- the most wearying example to date of a new subgenre we might label 'Sundance Science Fiction.'
August 7, 2014
The movie's musings are disingenuous at best and infuriating at worst, delivered with a hollow solemnity that the flowery story never warrants.
August 1, 2014
While some moments are magical, others just don't quite click.
August 1, 2014
A brainy intersection of science and faith, it's a movie that asks big questions. It's also, however, frustratingly short on any real answers.
July 31, 2014
If I Origins ends up a slog, it's at least occasionally lovely to look at.
July 31, 2014
"I Origins" will divide audiences without multiplying them.
July 31, 2014
I Origins challenges too little and ties up things too neatly for it to register as anything more than well-made, well-intentioned hogwash.
July 27, 2014
Big ideas can sometimes lead to great motion pictures or, as in the case of I Origins, colossal misfires.
July 25, 2014
It's nice to see a cerebral film in which the science isn't tossed off, yet like its characters, it's ultimately too idealistic and sacrifices common sense to prove itself.
Page 1 of 3