I Spit On Your Grave - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Spit On Your Grave Reviews

Page 1 of 76
½ September 22, 2016
The scene at the gas station kind of hints at what's to come. The scenes at the cabin/house are well done and make you a little uncomfortable because you know something bad is about to happen. And, indeed, bad stuff happens but revenge is sweet! Some scenes are graphic and a little hard to watch but overall this is a good movie! 3.5/ 5 OR 7/10
½ September 15, 2016
I Spit on Your Grave (2010)
Starring:Sarah Butler,Daniel Franzese, Chad Lindberg,Jeff Branson,Rodney Eastman,Andrew Howard, Tracey Walter,Mollie Milligan,and Saxon Sharbino
Directed by Steven R. Monroe
Review
ITS DATE NIGHT
This of course is the remake of the 1970's exploitation film that for reasons I don't know has a cult following.
The Film is about a young female writer who is raped in the woods by a couple of hillbillies and is left for dead. However she survives and exacts her revenge by finding sick,twisted and prevented ways in killing them. And I got to say I hated every second of this film.
In this remake less time is devoted to her revenge then it is too,verbal,psychological and physical abuse.People give this film credit for having great female empowerment. News flash dummies these films are pure exploitation,why do you encourage female empowerment cause she kills them all in the end,bull.They constantly show this poor woman being raped by hillbillies. it's as stupid as it is sickening. The fact that she gets revenge later in the film does not encourage female empowerment,it just shows us that in order for this film to have a plot in motion it had to constantly show a woman being brutally raped and beaten so she could get to them in a way that's just as sick. He is just afraid of them when she kill as she was when they raped her,she kills them out of fear in what sick twisted world could you call that female empowerment. The tagline for the film is just as tasteless,the tagline is ITS DATE NIGHT,its date night,yeah guys I may have never had one but if you take your girlfriend to see this they will break up with you the before it's over. I think a better tagline would have been you will never be more ashamed to have a dick. The shots are lazy and hack,the actors are not only bad but should all be ashamed of themselves as well. Every second,every inch,every frame of this GODAWFUL movie was assening and made me want to shower ten times. All the brutal and rape in the film is completely unnecessary. Why was this movie made? WHEN YOU HAVE TO SHOW A WOMAN BEING RAPED JUST TO MAKE A POINT GO SCREW YOURSELVES AND THIS MOVIE! I give this piece of ass a half out of five.
September 4, 2016
I Spit on Your Grave has its moments, but mostly it's predictable and incoherent stuff.
August 29, 2016
Humiliating and grotesque rape scenes. But the revenge she inflicts on those bastards brings me to my happy place.
½ July 13, 2016
Pretty stupid at times. The rape scene isn't nearly as horrific as the revenge ones; and boy, are they horrific. Acting was mediocre, sometimes laughable.
½ July 13, 2016
Great movie, way better than the original! Inventive and stylistic revenge served on a dirty platter!
July 9, 2016
Im laughing at these people who write such negative comments. Its a controversial franchise for a reason. And um, its a HORROR movie. Its actually extremely popular and it isnt focused on the assault. Its for pure entertainment purposes. And designed to empower the rape victim. She does what normal people cant get away with in society. I own the entire series. The second one is its own film and not thay good. The rapes are completely horrid in the second and by far the worst. As she gets raped more then a few times. The violence and gore is amazing. Two thumbs up and well made. Obviously the actress played a tough role and she was fine with doing so. ITS JUST A MOVIE. I highly recommend this to REAL horror fans.
Super Reviewer
½ June 22, 2016
A remake of a classic "female revenge" film. While this one still shows the horror that Jennifer goes through, it is not as brutal as the original. The revenge killings, however, are different and more creative in this remake. Excellent performance by Sarah Butler as it cannot be remotely easy to act out the scenes she had to.
May 20, 2016
sick and twìsted. the rape scenes were really difficult to watch, the revenge scenes were ace
April 30, 2016
A rare remake that improves upon the blandness of the original, I Spit on Your Grave gives the audience an uncomfortably graphic exercise in rape before piling on layers of relentless, gory and breathlessly satisfying revenge that should please genre buffs and gore whores.
½ April 18, 2016
As a violent revenge flick there's a lot to like here but, ultimately, it's impossible to look past the film's repellent and deplorable focus on rape- this one dug its own grave, and deserves to be spat on.

The performances are strong and the film is well-shot and avoids feeling overly-stiff or unconvincing. The latter half is really just an ultra-violent action film based around a revenge plot- some would call this 'torture porn' I guess, but given how ridiculous the deaths are, it's hard to feel particularly offended by that. Plus there's a theatricality to it all, as the protagonist sets up specific violent scenarios for each villain that relate to how they treated her. None of this makes for a particularly good film but it would at least be passable in my eyes.

However, in order to get to the revenge, the act that leads to it has to come up. This is where I think there has to be a line, otherwise, the film risks completely losing the audiences' confidence and trust. This film completely crosses that line.

The first quarter of this film does nothing but tell you "this character that you're watching is going to be raped". This is a terrible way to create tension in your film and I think it's really cheap and ugly to use something as traumatic as that in order to make your film interesting. Why is there a build-up to a rape scene? This is the first warning sign that something is seriously awry with this film.

Then there's the act itself- I can't remember how long it went on for but it felt like a good 20 minutes, maybe as much as half an hour, of someone being repeatedly raped and, it's bad enough having to describe it really, never mind trying to sit through it. Again, this is completely unnecessary and leaves the audience asking what the point is? The film relishes in the violence and brutality that the protagonist goes through just as much as it does the violence and brutality that the antagonists go through later. I get that we're supposed to take some kind of dark pleasure from the bad guys going through all of this because they're the bad guys but why then does the film put just as much attention on the bad guys being bad? It's completely unnecessary- if you tell me they are rapists, that will do. If you spend 20 minutes showing me someone being raped then all I'm left thinking is that the film is the bad guy and by watching this, I'm the bad guy too- I guess everyone has their own line as to when this becomes a problem, but this one surely crosses just about everyone's line.

I recall Kill Bill having a similar rape-revenge element- the difference? It's a few minutes long, everything is outlined through dialogue as opposed to being shown, and there's no build -up around the act itself- only the revenge. She wakes up, bashes peoples heads in and you feel like they deserved it and, yay, that's it. Even then, many people probably think that that crosses their line and I respect that position.

Anyway, this film could easily have done the same as Kill Bill- say, by starting after the rape and then just being a full-on action revenge flick. It didn't though and you've got to ask why and the answer is almost certainly unpleasant. Speaking of which- I'm feeling very unpleasant just writing about this.

Stay away from this one (and its sequel too).
April 17, 2016
4/16/2016: I was pleasantly surprised with this movie. The cast did well and the revenge was pretty great.
March 29, 2016
in love with thus flim
March 26, 2016
A decent remake of the 70s classic. Features Rodney Eastman (A Nightmare on Elm Street Parts 3 & 4).
March 15, 2016
About as ugly as a film can get, though definitely not for those with a weak stomach, this reboot makes some decided improvements over its 1970's predecessor - namely, some impressively stylised direction and a more pronounced emphasis on sheer brutality of the revenge. 'I Spit On Your Grave' is hardly for everybody, it's the very definition of hardcore for this generations of video nasties, and in those terms it really kinda works.
½ February 8, 2016
A pretty good, and very well acted remake. Essentially it is torture porn, in which violent and often gory forms of torture... more or less meant to be tough to watch, as opposed to scaring you. I still prefer the original over the remake, but if torture porn is your thing, then I would recommend checking out this film. It doesn't really do much in terms of scares, but instead delivers it's thrills with the use of very .
December 28, 2015
WOW......WOW.....WOW.....SO SO SO SO SO BAD......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH.......WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS IT IS THAT BAD.....JUST DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IT IS SO AWFUL.......ITS GOT A GOOD SOUNDTRACK THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.....BUT MAN THIS MOVIE IS SO SO SO AWFUL 2 WATCH....
½ December 15, 2015
I don't normally do horror with rape footage in it; I avoid it alltogether. I don't know how I ended up watching this, and I did have to skip through some parts. Everything about this movie is brutal; from the crime itself (which is half the movie, unfortunately) to the revenges. I was unaware it was a gore movie, I had expected it to be supernatural. If gore doesn't do it for you, or you avoid rape scenes, this isn't worth it. If however you don't mind rape scenes, and enjoy gore, I can see this would be a good movie to watch. I couldn't help but root for the girl the whole way through.
December 11, 2015
Pretty much a straight retelling of the original, give or take a few changes in the script and a few slightly more elaborate set pieces. :-/
December 6, 2015
can I watch this for free please
Page 1 of 76