I Spy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Spy Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 24, 2010
TV classic remade as a forgettable buddy movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Michael Dequina
January 29, 2009
Serves up the expected gags and set pieces in service of a thoroughly been-there, done-that plot line.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
December 4, 2003
A ótima química entre Eddie Murphy e Owen Wilson rende bons momentos.
| Original Score: 3/5
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
September 6, 2003
Murphy and Wilson seem to be having a contest to see who can be more obnoxious and, sadly, it's too close to call.
| Original Score: D+
Harry Guerin
RTÉ (Ireland)
February 11, 2003
Credit to Murphy and Wilson for making the most of it, but for Thomas it's a case of must spy harder.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 2, 2003
It's easy to watch trash, and although Murphy and his co-stars deserve better, it would be wrong for me to lie to you and say that I was bored.
| Original Score: 2/4
Rick Kisonak
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
Thomas demonstrates zero feel for either the material or milieu.
| Original Score: 2/5
Matt Easterbrook
Matt's Movie Reviews
December 3, 2002
For the most part, I Spy was an amusing lark that will probably rank as one of Murphy's better performances in one of his lesser-praised movies.
| Original Score: 3/5
Nev Pierce
November 26, 2002
It's disposable dumb fun. And there's nothing wrong with that.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
November 20, 2002
Murphy and Wilson actually make a pretty good team... but the project surrounding them is distressingly rote.
| Original Score: 2/4
Kim Linekin
November 19, 2002
Freakishly fun to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kamal 'The Diva' Larsuel
3BlackChicks Review
November 18, 2002
I spied with my little eye, a turkey of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
November 15, 2002
Even if it is generally amusing from time to time, I Spy has all the same problems the majority of action comedies have.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nicolas Lacroix
November 12, 2002
Une comédie d'action où l'action est déficiente mais où la comédie fonctionne.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eric D. Snider
November 9, 2002
If it sounds pretty formulaic, then I have described it accurately.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Margaret A. McGurk
Cincinnati Enquirer
November 8, 2002
This film does no favors to the memory of the I Spy TV series, a genuine original that knew how to pull off a surprise. On the big screen, it is as ordinary as they get.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Joe Leydon
San Francisco Examiner
November 7, 2002
A dispiriting piece of hackwork that ranks somewhere close to The Mod Squad and McHale's Navy on the list of unnecessary and ill-conceived TV-to-movie spin-offs.
| Original Score: .5/4
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
November 7, 2002
Do we need a new version of I Spy? I don't think so.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Anita Schmaltz
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
November 6, 2002
The film is overloaded with self-destruct modes, override codes and cocky Murphyisms discharged with machine-gun relentlessness.
| Original Score: 2/5
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
November 5, 2002
Except for the fact that it isn't set on the moon, I kept thinking I was watching The Adventures of Pluto Nash all over again.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 7